Seamstresses should get hazard pay

Before we resume with the wool robe I thought you might get a kick out of this little story of a new client.

She called to make an appointment and to ask if I had any animals as she was allergic. Once I assured her this was a pet-free zone she asked for directions.

Once she arrived she wanted me to know that she was “Totally Organic” and “Natural” and only ate organic and natural foods and used organic remedies.

She also stated she did not drink nor wear anything but organic fabrics. I could see by the stack of 14 pairs of elastic waist pants made from Flax, Hemp and Linen that she was serious…in other words, Alcohol never touches my lips nor polyester touches my hips.

After 90 minutes of pinning all her pants hems and side seams she starts to emit smells. She says to me “I hope you don’t mind, I have gas” and continues to just let it rip. As my sewing room had the windows closed she says she will just fan the methane around the room to disperse it. So there she is flapping her arms with me kneeling beside her with my nose at butt-level. Now it was nice of her to say “I hope you don’t mind” but that phrase is usually accompanied with someone taking the last brownie or drumstick or dregs in the wine bottle….not getting permission to cloud a room with “organic and natural” fragrances…Good Golly Miss Molly.

Our fitting session ends and after she leaves I open all the doors and windows to equalize her carbon foot butt print.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Seamstresses should get hazard pay

  1. Pingback: A Little Reward | fit for a queen

  2. 916susanc says:

    I just found your blog. I’m sorry but I’m laughing so hard I have tears in my eyes. Sooo, being all natural and organic means being rude?

    • mrsmole says:

      A month later, after 2 more visits from her and her commandeering/taking over and stinking up my bathroom for 30 minutes out of the 90 she was here…I “released” her. I no longer wanted her using my toilet as an organic dumping ground! I mailed her clothes, another stack of 12 pair of organic pants, back to her with a note saying I could not work with her any more. Thanks for dropping by Susan!

      • 916susanc says:

        LOL. That’s just too funny.

        I wanted to ask you something and hope I’m not replying as a comment. I noticed you went back to school for fashion design. Did you do that as a full time student? Where did you go? I’m in the Sacramento area which I noticed a reference to on your blog so I wondered if you might have gone to a program around here. I understand if you’re not wanting to disclose your location.

        Susan

  3. mrsmole says:

    No problem, Susan. I went to Fullerton College which at that time, 1988, had a fulltime Fashion Design program. I had 3 small children at the time so I went to as many classes as I could when they were in school and at night when I had a sitter. Write to me privately for more information: surroundedbywhite@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

