Ghost Writers

My dear husband is a professional writer so he knows lots of fancy sounding words and their multiple meanings and uses perfect grammar so his services are always in demand. Recently he told me one of his globe-trotting entrepreneurial clients wanted to start a blog about his travels and business dealings and thoughts in general but felt he needed someone to collect his thoughts and present them in a professional manner. This brought joy to my husband as a new challenge and a diversion from the usual dry manuscripts and company prospectus projects he deals with. 

As a loving and supportive wife I was supposed to be excited for him and encourage him but my response  was sadly: “You can’t write a blog and represent the essence of that person”.

I think the person writing a blog shares so many feelings and observations that can only be captured and shared in their own words so the reader can understand the passion and flavor of his or her thoughts. Don’t you think every blog be it about sewing or cooking or travel has a particular twist that makes us come back for more whether we agree with their views or are just hungry for diversity in our lives?

Well, my husband went along with the challenge and accumulated the thoughts and ideas of this man and assembled them into some readable order and the client was thrilled with the content but said it didn’t “sound” like him. OF COURSE NOT, because it was NOT HIM, his regurgitated ideas but not his spirit or personality, just his words in perfect order with perfect spelling and punctuation. A blog is not just words in a certain order presenting facts and photos…it is the essence of that person writing off the top their head with the reader getting some insight into their views at that moment.

Holding that thought, a while back my husband also tried to get me to have a Twitter account and start tweeting. He was enjoying following other writers and news people and classical musicians. The message to me was that blogs are old hat and this is the new way to be connected. Yeah right…so like in 140 characters I could send out my encounters with clients and enjoy reading stuff about others…I don’t think so. I was told that technology was leaving me behind, I was stuck in the past and had to keep up.

So far I am holding my ground. Knowing that celebrities rarely write their own tweets and employ others to write their tweets and then in the case of the pseudo famous “K” family each of their tweets earn them over $10,000 and they manage in their hectic schedule about 8 tweets a day promoting/pimping  their products.  Then there are other more believable celebrities like Piers Morgan (interviewing other interesting hard working celebs) who write their own but moan about ONLY having 1 million followers while keeping tabs on higher-ups with 10 million or more. They make it a competition to feed their fragile egos. I have one word for that game… PATHETIC! Here’s a news flash: Just because you follow someone, you don’t have a relationship with them…they don’t know you, they don’t care about you and will never invite you to lunch at Wolfgang Puck’s Spago or Eva Longoria’s Beso restaurant or the current hot spot for people watching.

My final thought… after seeing a series of photos from a recent news article about a snake that had swallowed an entire deer and learning that powerful chemicals in the snake’s intestines actually dissolve the bone, hair and skin of the animal with no problem it got me to thinking. What if researchers could recreate this compound in the lab and market it? This could be the final answer to a woman’s prayer…something that actually removes soap scum from shower doors!!! Talk about snake oil!!! BRING IT ON!

We have 21 days left to finish Christmas projects for family and clients…Good Luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ghost Writers

  1. theresa says:

    LOL! If you find some of that stuff for soap scum, PLEASE let me know.
    I think having someone else write your blog, is kinda cheating.
    Did you have to put an actual number down until Christmas. I was blissfully thinking I had
    plenty of time….Off to sew…need mail time too……YIKES!

  2. I agree with you about the tweeting thing. Most of the tweets I’ve seen are inane and uninteresting and to me a step backward in the world of communication.

  3. Alethia says:

    Ditto:.. PATHETIC! Here’s a news flash: Just because you follow someone, you don’t have a relationship with them…they don’t know you, they don ‘t care about you and will never invite you to lunch at Wolfgang Puck’s Spago or Eva Longoria’s Beso restaurant or the current hot spot for people watching.

    I say onward blogging soldier! I’m behind you 100%, yay!!!

Leave a Reply

