Try to Fit Tunics

About a year ago I saw this pattern made up in a fabric store and thought it looked interesting but when I got this little honey out of the envelope I realized that like so many Indygo Junction patterns it is made with no bust room/for 13 year old teens.

Below are all the Powerpoint pages I made to show the fitting progression/frustration with crappy design and poor fit. You will recognize my duct tape dummy again, she works hard and never complains (be sure to click on each page to enlarge).

Eventually I did cut this altered paper pattern in fashion fabric and it fits well and I get compliments. So again…beware of nice photographs on pattern envelopes. I have a sneaky suspicion that the center back areas are pinned out just for the photo shoot making the garment hug the body and make the model look thinner…if only life could be that easy?

The lesson learned here: If you have an ample bust, find princess front pattern pieces and substitute them whenever you can. There seems to be a plethora of tunics and empire dresses on the internet, many ill-fitting or never fitting for real women. It’s a battle some of us are winning…I hope these photos help you in your quest! Another sewing blogger Sherril tackles this problem with other pattern companies too who think Plus Sized women have tapered waists…what?

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Try to Fit Tunics

  1. Annemarie says:

    This is a fantastic tutorial. I am so glad I found your blog. I am large busted and get so frustrated by ill fitting pattern drafts. This really helped me learn fitting issues for my size. Thanks again.

  2. prttynpnk says:

    I so love reading your posts, they are so informative and helpful. Thank you!

  3. theresa says:

    I happen to have this pattern and have made it up. In fact it may be one of the first garments I attempted since Home Ec in 7th grade. It was okay, I wear it around the house, it has pockets.
    But I was never in love with the fit. I am going to try every single one of those adjustments on it.
    Princess seams into armholes are something I have avoided, but what the heck, the pattern is just sitting there unused anyway. Not a thing to lose. Thank you as always for a great informative post!!!

    • mrsmole says:

      Theresa, even when I made the princess front in gingham you can see I pinched out some of the fabric in that seam from bust point to armhole so it would lay flat so don’t be afraid to keep tweeking!

  4. Beal says:

    I found the link to your blog on Rhonda’s site, and I’ve enjoyed reading through it today. I was dismayed, however, to see the “if you’re built like a real woman” comment. I’m sure you didn’t mean anything unkind, but maybe we can try to appreciate every woman and her shape, whether she’s large busted or small? :-)

    • mrsmole says:

      I didn’t mean any harm, Beal, but when you buy a pattern that is sized 16-24 and it is meant for a real woman, I mean one older than 12 with no bust development. The models the pattern companies use are anorexic and then the clothes are pinned or clamped in the back to make them look like they really fit. It would be nice to see more in the middle sizes displayed. Reading blogs makes you wonder if everyone woman out there is making FBA alterations on every pattern…what a lot of work before you can even get cutting or sewing. I fit all sizes, shapes and ages of women…I like them all but what I don’t like are patterns that claim to fit all and fit none.Thanks for checking in!

Leave a Reply

