Boxing, Lace and Liberty

Once again it boggles my mind that folks see my business card that says BRIDAL and they assume I would want to sew the oddest things.

The week’s request comes from a man who is in the business of promoting Cage Fights and the manufacturing of the cages. He figures that since he wife with her little sewing home machine cannot attach Velcro to black cotton fabric to make the drapes which encircle the lower edges of the cages that I would want to do this. So tomorrow he is dropping off enough fabric to make 6 curtains 11 feet long and 36 inches wide that wrap around the edges of the floor panels. These curtains must add a bit of class to the otherwise gruesome blood-letting sport of cage fighting. No word about this being a permanent job, only a challenge to see if it is possible for a reasonable price in a short amount of time.

Another misguided male called to tell me a sad story. It seems his girlfriend was waiting and watching to bid on a dress on eBay and was going to bid in the last 2 minutes of the auction when as Chelsea Handler says “Whoopsie” the item got away. She did manage to snap a photo with her phone and send it to him in tears. He being the real devoted boyfriend and a man who breeds prize bulls for bull riding said he just wanted to make her happy by having me replicate this dress. Now the fact that it is supposed to be a surprise and he has no idea of her size didn’t seem to bother him. Here is the photo: Just to let him know what is going to be involved, I went into Photoshop and outlined all the different types of lace so he could see what was needed:

Three different types and sizes and that doesn’t involve whatever type of fabric that is used. I told him that is looked like a late 60′s dress with old lace curtains used for the ruffled hem and sleeve cuffs. He was also informed that I do not have time to shop for laces nor fabrics so these would have to be provided along with measurements of his girlfriend. So far I have not heard back and I am keeping my fingers crossed he realizes this is a bridge too far.

In the meantime some of you have asked whatever happened to that Liberty Shirt paper pattern after I cut it up, moved and made darts. Well…I had some cotton batik fabric laying around for about 6 years that would be a nice way to sample the alterations.

Since the pattern envelope looked like the blouse had bands and in the end it was only top stitching done to facings on the wrong side I decided to make all the facings actual bands.

The addition of a bust dart managed to pull the swing out fronts and back section back to perpendicular with the floor. The wide side seams still swing forward and look awkward but that is the design. Here are a couple photos in progress:

The collar has not been cut from fabric yet as after looking at all the other versions on Pattern Review it makes me wonder why anyone would want a collar that does not come all the way to the end of the front edge of the jacket and actually splay out and flare at the top. After measuring the long curved collar piece and measuring the jacket neckline it was apparent that the collar could be flipped over and attached so that the edge met in the front and there would be no splaying at all, in fact the collar would follow the contour of the wearer’s neck …what a concept! So that is the next step.

In the photos all the seams are just pinned so things look a little jagged but I hope you can see the lower bands/facings and front panels/facings that add interest. My last idea is to add very tiny piping (minus the filler) to some of the edges of the bands before stitching them down.

One last thing to mention before I go back to elevating my foot – Sunday night a very nice client of mine dropped off something she had made to help me heal. Now that’s what I call the right medicine!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Boxing, Lace and Liberty

  1. prttynpnk says:

    I hate sewing on Velcro, you are a good person!

    • mrsmole says:

      Well Prtty, It is really a matter of being paid my hourly rate and whether it is Velcro on curtains or horsehair braid on wedding dresses. I’m not crazy about it either but it’s the job. Thank you for saying I am a good person!

  2. Teri says:

    Ms. Mole . . . you are TRULY a good person and you are the BEST … for making me laugh out loud!
    Hope your foot surgery recovery is going well ~ that surgery is one of the worst of course.
    Take care – see you in June!

    • mrsmole says:

      Teri, nice hearing from you and letting me know I make you laugh. You know I actually tone down these experiences when there is so much more to tell! See you in June.

  3. Alethia says:

    Wow, people want you to sew the darndest things!
    I have a dress hanging now~ a formal~ where the grandmother purchased this formal gown, site unseen. The granddaughter lives in Germany. GM wants me to make this prom dress, which is about 2-3 sizes to small, to fit. the bodice is heavily beaded with rocaille beads and has NO seam allowances anywhere. I’m suppose to take the hem and add stuff any and everywhere.
    I DON’T THINK SO…I’m sending this sucker back to grandma!

    • mrsmole says:

      Good on you, Alethia! There comes a time when making miracles is just too time consuming and we actually lose money instead of making it. What girl wants panels inserted into side seams in her formal dress?

  4. theresa says:

    Well, how the heck did I miss this post!!! Anyway, cage fighting really, right here in River City?
    How gruesome is right. Maybe these are the folks responsible for all the dead cats? ;)
    Oh, professional bull contractor. Oh go for it, these guys get upwards of $50k for one straw to AI
    from their prize bucking bull stock.
    The liberty top is looking marvelous, but that bundt cake..well it does steal the show completely. YUMMMY!

  5. mrsmole says:

    Thankfully the bull breeding boyfriend has not gotten back to me about the lace dress and the black Velcro edged curtains for the cage have been finished and will be in use soon. Yes, I guess we do have cage fighting in our area but I don’t know about the connection to dead cats?
    The brides start coming next week, my foot stitches are out but I have to wear the ski boot another 3 weeks. Bummer but at least we don’t have snow predicted…yet.

Leave a Reply

