Wanted: a good fairy

We all could use a good fairy who comes in the night to help around the house and I am no exception. Those of you who know me know that I get up every night to sew and wish there were an extra set of hands ready to help.

This week was a heavy drop-off week with 3 brides, 11 pair of pants, one jacket, one suit, 2 dresses, and 6 tops all to be worked in with the custom sewing of another floral dress and cropped jacket. Here is the line-up:

And the new custom stuff:

While I can’t/shouldn’t complain, it does make me wonder when some of my friends tell me that the economy is going down the toilet and no one can find work. Here in this little rural town there seems to be plenty of work for the 5 hard-working seamstresses. We sewing sisters, Shirley, Joyce, Jzionna and Tina have a backlog of up to a month of projects with many coming in the next 3 months. I have 2 very high end weddings coming in October so things will not be settling down for a while. Folks have money to spend on the pants I have shown, Carlisle in the $300 plus range, Ralph Lauren and the like. The gowns are all $800 and up range so someone is working. The white wool double breasted suit is from Brooks Brothers which can run in the $500 + range.

One funny thing happened this week in the midst of clients running in, striping to their underwear and leaving their clothes behind…I got a phone call from a women who said “My regular dry cleaners couldn’t help me so they gave me the name of another seamstress and she gave me your name and thought you could help me.” Now friends, you know this is the prelude to an outlandish request don’t you? Someone is setting you up for a possible disaster and whopping big headache if you take the bait. BUT, I said “what do you have?”

She says, “I have lost a lot of weight and have a simple summer dress that I need to wear to a special event TONIGHT. “OH!” I say, and “what do you need exactly?” “Well” she says, “it is very simple, hemming and taking in the dress at the waist and also taking out fabric from the back to make it look good.”

Looking around my 2 rooms packed with waiting garments I declined saying I could not possible stop everything and move her to the front of the line and wondered to myself how long it had taken her to lose this vast amount of weight and why she didn’t try on the dress a week before. Maybe some of the weight loss was from her brain and it never occurred to her?

BUT, this is the greatest mystery in the universe along with the one why brides want you to be able to alter their dress the morning of the wedding in case they have managed to lose that one extra pound and their dress could be made even tighter.

Looking on the national weather map I see most of you are sweltering and I feel blessed that this year in the northwest we have had cooler temps and so far, fingers crossed, no fires. So, try to stay cool, drink plenty of liquids and enjoy the 4th of July with your families! Happy Birthday, America!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wanted: a good fairy

  1. theresa says:

    Cripes, is there such a thing as a slow week from April to November you think? So, do you use those knee pads the carpet guys use because I can only imagine the number of hours you are on them pinning and adjusting stuff.
    I don’t have an answer to the universal mystery, but if you do find the answer, don’t forget to tell us. :)
    Hope the 4th is a quiet day off for you.

  2. mrsmole says:

    Theresa, if there is a slow week I sure would like to experience it! No, I don’t use knee pads, I was raised Catholic so I have a lifetime of building up my own “knee pads”. Unfortunately the 4th is just another working Wednesday but without clients visiting…a bonus, really. Thanks for dropping by!

  3. Alethia says:

    Reading this post I couldn’t help but laugh, you know I know about these “losing weight” brides that want to wait until days before the wedding so you can perform a miracle. Then, when they come in only to find that their forward thinking weight loss goals took a turn backwards, now they weigh more than they did before. Ashamedly, they still ask if anything can be done…. ROTFL!!!

  4. mrsmole says:

    Oh Alethia,the same goes for the girls who want that back zipper sooo tight that the “back fat” hangs over the top of the dress. They ask what “I” (the seamstress) can do for that. All I can suggest is “wear a long veil” to cover it up. Thank heaven for corset back dresses that can adjust to the brides’ whims and water weight gains!!!

  5. “weight loss from her brain” made me laugh so much and then “wear a long veil” made me laugh even more. I only found your blog recently and I read it in the vain hope that it might inspire me to do some of the alterations on my own clothes (most of which I made myself) that I need to do – but somehow the urge to unpick still eludes me. I’d rather sew something from scratch than do alterations – I am in awe of your work.

    • mrsmole says:

      Thank you, Julie. Unpicking goes pretty well with watching BBC programs we have recorded in the evening. I’d never spend daylight hours unpicking/ripping out…it’s a 7-11 pm chore for sure.Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Monique says:

    As I am just getting back into garment sewing and finally learning how to get the fitting right, I have a lot of respect for what you do! The standard out-of-the-packet patterns just never fit right. So it is so uplifting to have something fit well, no matter what sort of shape your body has (for real, not in the mind ;-) ), that your profession should certainly be valued more. So, like your other readers, I too am in awe and read your informative AND hilarious posts with pleasure. Thanks so much for blogging!

    • mrsmole says:

      Thank you for such lovely comments, Monique. I wish you much luck getting a good pattern and a good fit. maybe you have other sewing friends who can meet with you and you can all practice pinning out the parts you don’t want/need and keeping the parts that flatter your shapes.

Leave a Reply

