Passing on an Award

A couple of posts back,Tia Dia and now Ruth has passed her 2 awards to me so here I am finally sitting down to thank them and share the required things and suggest other blogs that tickle my fancy.

The rules of this award are as follows:

Thank the person who nominated you 
Add The One Lovely Blog Award / The Very Inspiring Blogger Award to your post.

Share 7 things about yourself. 
Pass the award on to 10 nominees.
 
Include this set of rules. 
Inform your nominees by posting a comment on their blogs.

onelovelyblogvery-inspiring-blogger-award-2

Seven things:

1. In a past life, I am sure I owned and ran a saloon for thirsty cowboys aka “bad boys”.

2. In my next life, I will come back as a blonde who can sing and dance and have to beat off men.

3. In this life I have been blessed with a generous and listening husband who waited 30 years for me to marry him.

4. I am blessed to have a business that makes me use my aging mind in the hopes of avoiding dementia.

5. I am an extreme introvert who cried when I read the book “Quiet” and found myself in it and happy to have permission to withdraw into myself at times.

6. My real identity(those few of you who know me) has been a member of www.kiva.org for 7 years and it gives me great joy to make loans to other seamstresses all over the world.

7. Being with celebrities does not raise your status…I’ve had dinner with Henry Kissinger, Buss Aldrin, Captain and Tennille and lunch with Prince Charles but they don’t send me cards on my birthday…I’m still me and they can’t sew…I’d rather be me, I have a stash.

Now for the nominees…maybe some will decide to not follow through or have a “no thanks” icon on their blog but as one of my favorite “no awards” bloggers told me “it’s the thought that counts.” I follow these people because their quiet and serene sewing features bright colors, happy people and some clever tutorials and they are not on everyone’s blogroll. Let’s start, I have included their own descriptions:

 

http://Loweryourpresserfoot.blogspot.com

Kristy, a 35 year old who is an obsessive sewist, pattern collector and fabric hoarder. Oh, and a mum to a three year old mini tornado, a chubba bubba and a long suffering spotty dog.

 

http://Annabellebumps.blogspot.com

Annabelle, I have always been fascinated by being able to make something with my hands. That is why all it takes is for me to learn how to do something and I am hooked for life.

 

www.afashionablestitch.com

Sunni, First, let’s say that I’m a fabric  lover. I adore fabrics. Running them through my fingers at the fabric store just makes my hair stand up.

 

www.mycatsew.blogspot.com

Yuki, I am SAHM and full-time math student who loves fashion and fabric. I enjoy recreating RTW as much as collecting quality fabric.

www.weirwoodstation.blogspot.com

Kitty, I’m a former quilt shop owner, teacher, and nursing home administrator. Currently I am trying to finish all my unfinished projects, while starting new ones. I try to spend about half of my creative time making quilts and other items for various local charities.

 

http://mainelydadswintercoat.blogspot.com/

I’m pretty much a self-taught sewist living the good life on the coast of Maine. What started as a crazy idea of making my own winter coat has snowballed into an array of men’s outerwear and more. I love having the clothes that I really want. To that end — I AM my own luxury brand!

(This guy can really sew and work patterns!)

 

http://encue.blogspot.com/

I have been sewing off and on since 7th grade. Although I had to take a home-ec class first, my Mom* really taught me how to sew. In the last year or so I have bumped up my skills by reading books, websites, and blogs.

(This generous lady goes to Africa to buy sewing machines and fabrics to run workshops.)

 

http://baroqueembellishments.blogspot.com/

 Kimberly Servello

I love the over-the-top glamour of Elizabethan embroidered fashions and the elegance of antique French monogrammed linens. Since I can’t go back in time to enjoy the splendour of those distant eras, I reinvent them for today’s fashions & decor. I invite you to get out your best china, indulge in a pot of tea & decadent pastry and join me on my odyssey….

 

http://pigsinpajamas.com/

Piglet

I like crafting and cooking and that’s why I started this so I could share it with friends, family and whoever else might possibly be interested. Enjoy!

P.S. Yes, I really do own the pair of Flying Piglet Pajamas seen in the header

 

 http://sewingontheedge.blogspot.com/

Barbara, I am a mother, a new grandmother, and a teacher. But whatever happens in my life, I keep sewing. I have worked as a political communicator and now as a teacher in my formal life. I have also written extensively on sewing. I have been a frequent contributor and contributing editor of Threads magazine and I write a monthly humour/sewing column for the Australian magazine Dressmaking with Stitches.

 

So there you have it…10 blogs to visit, 10 for me to inform and the last weekend of 2012 to organize and sew and watch snow fall. One bride left…the peach one and she is looking mighty nice.

Time to start thinking about new year resolutions? Click on the Kiva link here and connect with someone who needs a loan, will pay it back and keep the money recycled empowering women (and men) to finance their own businesses and children’s schooling…it is a win-win deal and $25 doesn’t really buy that much fabric for your stash in the end.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Passing on an Award

  1. Alethia says:

    Congratulations on your awards!

  2. Tia Dia says:

    “I’d rather be me. I have a stash!” Ain’t it the truth?! I love the micro-loan organzations! Thanks so much for a list of lovely new blogs!

  3. Oh you definintely deserve these awards – congratulations. Love the list of blogs too …. helps on the inspiration front so I can pretend I have projects in mind for stash items!

  4. theresa says:

    Actually, meeting celebrities always make me feel lucky, even if they all did have a stash of fabric. I am sure some I’ve met have had a stash…of some sort. Now, onto that list. Thank you for putting forth some new to me blogs!!!

  5. prttynpnk says:

    Ok, totally struck- Darryl Dragon was my first crush! So sad- even then I liked ‘em balding! Well earned praise for an excellent blog and commenter… I was reading a post somewhere this week about sewists being too afraid to tell someone they had a mess on their hands- or hips. Well, I thought of you immediately- I’ve received kindly-worded and necessary fit advice from you whenever its been needed, I thank you!

    • mrsmole says:

      Have you seen Darryl lately? I’ll send you a photo circulating around the internet. It’s funny about you saying other sewists are afraid to say bad things to other sewists…one does have to be careful but when everyone is sending comments (it’s great, perfect, stunning etc) that don’t match the the wrinkles and drag lines on the garment I think it might just help a little to point out a few. If people don’t write back, I know it was not welcomed…so glad you don’t mind, Anne!

  6. Bunny says:

    Thanks for the links to these blogs. I will check out each and every one. Prince Charles? Not too shabby! Henry the K? Now that’s one I would find really interesting.

    I have been a huge fan of microloans and the big leg up they provide women of poverty and little hope. Thanks for the link.

    Happy New Year!

  7. Annabelle says:

    Congratulations on your blog awards and thank you so much for thinking of me :) It means a lot that you would pass an award onto me for my blog, I hope you will not be disappointed if I choose not to participate. I have been terrible about acknowledging awards in the past – so I’ve decided to be consistent in my terribleness :( Thanks again though.

    • mrsmole says:

      No problem, Annabelle…I just wanted to share your blog with my readers as I have really enjoyed following you. Like my other blog friend says “It’s the thought that counts.” Happy New Year!

  8. anne kelley says:

    I love you even more since reading your secrets!
    Thank you for teaching via your blog, not to mention your wicked sense of humor. Also thanks for the kiva link – I’ll read it as soon as I have a bit of time. As you might note,I’m running a bit behind.

  9. mrsmole says:

    That’s good news isn’t Anne? Selling lots and lots of beads over the holiday season really brightens crafters’ lives and incomes too. When I lived in the UK for 8 years I taught beading in my kitchen to 8 ladies every week. Beads had to be imported from sources in the US and we practiced techniques every week from the beading magazines and patterns I made up. Lordie, those little beads are addictive!

Leave a Reply

