Orange Silk Cheesecloth Gauze

Maybe some of you remember that orange jacket with the back princess seams ripped apart? Well, thankfully the client was not in a big rush and she let me take my time to think about it/leave town for 2 weeks to the desert, come up with a solution/make magic and execute it with photos to share.

Like many things, there are no books to show us how to make weird alterations/repairs to strange fabrics and be able to make those adjustments with a look toward the future with more wear and tear. So, we seamstresses retreat into our back rooms/pour a diet Dr. Pepper or stronger depending on the time of day, toss the sad distressed garment on a mannequin and do some thinking/praying that a workable solution will pop into our heads. My fear always is that the “fix” will look like someone’s auntie or granny had her way with the article and did a real homemade job of it. May you never have to deal with this type of repair!!!

Here are a series of photos of my way of tackling a fabric that had no business being made up into a jacket in the first place. 4-make-pattern First lay the top of the offending  panel on lined paper and get the grainlines straight.

5-draw-edges Then draw in the original edges before the ripping happened.

6-cuff-overlap Using the already removed narrow cuffs, overlap them to make a small 1/4 inch seam.7-flip-and-stitch

Flip and stitch.9-press-seam Stitch a 3/8 inch wide strip of straight grain silk organza into seam. Press seam flat.10-wrap-organza-over-seam Then wrap organza to encase seam and stitch down along the new folded edge…like flat-felled seam.11-pin-to-old-section Now take that new section and pin it to the old raggedy section and repeat the organza wrap and topstitch flat. This not the easiest thing to do as the organza did not want to co-operate and was so narrow it did not want to be folded and ironed first…whose idea was this technique anyway?12-ready-to-trim-off Ready to trim away the old piece before wrapping the organza.13-wrapped-seams Ta-Da….reinforced organza wrapped seams from the right side.14-wrapped-seams Seams from the wrong side.

15-new-seams Then attach new pieces to vertical princess seams adding bias strips of organza in the seam lines and under the decorative bias strips that are topstitched on both edges.16-inside-seams

Two and a half hours later I’m done. Fingers crossed these little organza strips will allow/be my insurance the client to reach forward/drive, hug and lunch with her girlfriends without ripping it again. At least I have one cuff left over in case that happens the next time.

Thank you to all the well wishers for my surgery tomorrow…here’s the cool thing…my doctor is making a video of the procedure since it is done as a camera aided laproscopic surgery. So while not being inclined to put it on YouTube, I will be able to watch it at home although he said I may want to wait a day or two. I assured him I was once an x-ray technologist and would find it very interesting…well that is after I have a pain pill down my gullet and ice packs surrounding my knee. The other cool thing is having Mr. Mole to be my nurse as he is fully qualified in this area after my foot surgery last year…I am blessed!

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Orange Silk Cheesecloth Gauze

  1. Karin says:

    Good luck with the surgery! I hope you start to feel better very soon.

  2. gwensews says:

    What a fix! I hope you charge for your “thinking” time, as well! Best wishes for your surgery. Take plenty of time to heal. Watch your video. Ick!

  3. theresa says:

    If I had sewing type nightmares, THIS is what they would look like. Holy mrsmoley, that should be made into a Mission Impossible movie. I am applauding your expertise and feeling sheepish that I put that evil vest in the DOA pile.
    Best of luck with the surgery.

    • mrsmole says:

      I guess I feel “there is always hope” for a possible wadder…side vents and added panels and bands can salvage many a tight garment or you just find a smaller friend to give it to…ha ha!

  4. Elle C says:

    Tomorrow. Wow. You will be on my mind all day. All available body parts will be crossed for you.

  5. Anne W says:

    Good luck with the surgery. And well done with that ripped fabric! I must confess I’d have run away, screaming…

    • mrsmole says:

      She is one of my best clients and most of her clothes are Carlisle…the most divine private label to work on….normally! Once in a while they send out a clunker like this that cannot hold up to being worn…no one’s fault except I would like to track it back to who selected the fabric! It gives you a chance to get creative and drag out that chunk of silk organza from the stash and put it to work.

  6. Gwen says:

    I know I commented on this blog earlier, but dang if I can find my comment now. Oh well. First, I did see your Connie capris on your blog, and they were super, which is why I bought that pattern. Thank you for more pattern enabling! I hope you charge for all your “thinking” hours. Best wishes tomorrow. Hope you heal quickly and are up and about soon. Take your time.

  7. Good luck for tomorrow’s surgery, Mrs Mole! Wishing you a speedy recovery!

  8. Well done with even attempting this repair I think I would have headed for the hills!! Good luck with your surgery tomorrow and hope your back on your feet soon (or maybe lie in bed and have Mr Mole attend to your every need!)

  9. marisolsen99 says:

    Mrs. Mole! Good luck on your surgery! And may 2013 be filled only with easy, fast, and lucrative alteration jobs. No more GAUZE jackets, for God’s sake! (Must have been designed by someone who had never sewn a stitch in their life!!!!) :-p

  10. BeaJay says:

    What a great job you have done with the jacket. Hope your surgery goes as magically as your surgery on the jacket.

  11. mrsmole says:

    Just so they don’t leave in any organza…ha ha. My client came this morning to get her jacket and said “I never expected all this work!”…I smiled and said,” yes, I know but it was all necessary” as she wrote the check.
    Maris, we don’t know who chose the fabric for that jacket but she probably has heard back from disappointed clients by now.

  12. Monique says:

    Amazing work on that jacket! Hope that your surgeon is at least as good at his job in getting your knee back in shape. All the best for a speedy and complete recovery,
    Monique

  13. prttynpnk says:

    Wow- that jacket- I hope your surgeons is as handy with tiny detail work- we need you back in mini skirt mode soon!

  14. Bravo on the jacket repair! Excellent work (and something you probably hope never to have to see again). I know exactly what you mean about thinking time – I keep a notebook by the bed for when inspiration strikes.
    Good luck with the surgery – you could probably give the surgeon tips! :)

  15. Ruth D says:

    I hope all went well today. Rest up and let yourself be pampered.

  16. Julie says:

    I had you in Google Reader…I thought. Suddenly, I began to wonder where Mrs. Mole was? Now you are definitely there and I caught up from since you went on vacation. Now I find you’ve been surged on! I hope all went well and you are ensconced with your leg up and doped so you feel no pain. I need this exact thing done to my knee sometime, but mine is not so bad yet. Be good to yourself!

    • mrsmole says:

      Thanks for tracking me down…yes, indeed I have been serged/surged upon….good way of putting it. No pain for now so I am thrilled!

  17. mrsmole says:

    Things went well in surgery but came home dopier than normal. Now that my brain is less fuzzy I can read and relax while Mr. Mole brings ice packs and drinks to me camped out on the sofa with my knee elevated. Thank you to all of you for fingers and toes crossed and positive thoughts!

  18. Bunny says:

    Good luck with your surgery. Hope you are back up and running in fast time.

  19. barb bachmann says:

    Glad to hear that you have such an excellent nurse, and with a British accent too, you lucky woman!! Heal quickly, but take your time getting back to work. ya know, read a little, eat a bon bon, drink your dr p, eat another bon bon……

  20. mrsmole says:

    It’s like a mini vacation…ahhhh…well sort of except there is no lying in the sun or long walks along the beach…just long walks down the hall to the bathroom but my honey acts as a crutch and I lean on him. Trying to remember to pop a sugar free chocolate in my mouth from time to time though!!! Thanks, Nurse Penny!

Leave a Reply

