Blue and Orange – Complimetary Colors?

Let’s escape the world of ivory satin for a moment and add some color. Those of you who know the color wheel remember that blue and orange are complimentary colors but I have a few examples of what not to do this week.

You all know that I have altered that high end brand of clothes from Carlisle…their fabrics are wonderful and they are expensive. Women who wear this type of clothing want to be noticed/envied and admired/adored and feel they canĀ  pass down their clothes to their daughters in the future. That being said, one mother-daughter duo had the bright idea that removing shoulder pads was an easy peasy job and they could do it at home without enlisting the time and talents of the local seamstress…and if things went wrong, they could use something like Steam-a-Seam and make things OK…are you laughing yet…you know what is coming don’t you…

Well they ripped open the shoulder area, not even using shoulder seam, took out the offending pads and then put fusible adhesive film behind the seam and pressed with a very hot iron…brace yourself! 1-burned-opening

Holy Crap! The acetate lining melted, the fusible melted and the wool almost disappeared! What can be done with this mess? How about surgically remove the damaged section and replace it…Nurse, my gloves please, scalpel, let’s start…patient is sedated…

2-remove-section

Tissue sample removed and flipped over to inspect damage…Yep, there’s the melted fusible web doing just what is supposed to do…bond. Now to make a replacement piece…using the cut out section as a pattern:3-cut-new-patch Trim around with pinking shears, my favorite tool, 4-trim-new-patch Machine sew it in on 2 sides:5-stitch-in Flip up and hand sew the other 2 sides at shoulder and curved front armscye:6-done Ahhhh back to normal:P1160534 One reader asked me what I charged for this repair…it took me one hour along with another black jacket that was equally ripped to shreds the same way but without the DIY repair job so I charged $35 and I hope the two of them have learned a lesson.

Some of my other clients bring me real treasures that need a new lease on life and have a job to be a recycled garment to amaze their friends…here is the latest! Complimentary? I think not…this orange brocade honey was found in a vintage shop and it had been altered at least once. There were 2 huge diagonal stitched down darts running from the high waist side seams to center hip area along with a vertical open tuck running from the center hip to the center tummy…nasty! frontchiffon-side-panel Here you can see that I have pinned out all the extra fabric in front hip areas and the vertical curved bust seams…this dress was originally made for a Dolly Parton. Over 4 inches will be removed from the bust seams and all the pinned out fabric will be relocated…what? Where does it go without cutting any away? Well next time you will see some real magic and manipulation and some ugly alterations made along the way in addition to a fuchsia silk charmeuse lining…really? Oh yes…the best part is yet to come and some permanent orange chiffon side panels instead of the white ones that I pinned in for the photo.

One last photo to share from the garden…have you ever looked inside a sunflower before the seeds matured? Well here are some tiny 1/4 inch long baby bees with their legs covered in pollen in the center of the flower…you can hardly seen them for all the pollen but there they were happily doing a pollen dance.130729---bees

Happy weekend, everyone!

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Blue and Orange – Complimetary Colors?

  1. What a mess she made of her beautiful jacket – and how fortunate she is that you were there to rescue it! Love the picture of the little bees :)

  2. mrsmole says:

    Wish I had been a fly-on-the-wall when it took place! What did the iron look like with melted acetate on it? What did it smell like?

  3. Monique says:

    You’ve worked your miracles yet again, Mrs Mole. And the orange dress looks like it will be gorgeous soon.
    LOVE the picture of the bees on the sunflower head.
    Have a good weekend!

  4. sadly I have melted a lining or two in my day, great rescue. love the sunflower photo.

    • mrsmole says:

      These lessons about too hot iron settings happen when we are working on the better garments…never the real ratty ones….a press cloth saves the day…or an iron cover…we have so many lessons to learn…whew!

  5. I haven’t had that one – but I have seen a few howlers in my time. Well done with the rescue!
    (And lovely picture of the flower and bees)

  6. prttynpnk says:

    Oh how many times have I seen such- when I worked in an ‘upscale’ consignment shop no one ever mentioned these ‘fixes’ when they brought them in to sell! I am looking forward to seeing the orange lovely one.

    • mrsmole says:

      Were you ever tempted to “adopt” garments and give them a new home? Maybe just the animal print ones…ha ha…animal rescue sort of?

  7. BeaJay says:

    Ouch – that first one really hurt! Great job.

  8. kattheengineer says:

    I would have been too busy sobbing to find a seamstress to help, if I’d made such a mess of a lovely jacket. I always love reading about your magic fixes!

    • mrsmole says:

      Thanks, Kathleen, the funny thing was, Mr Mole said he did not understand why I took on such a project when I have a room full of wedding dresses to finish…until I explained it was the perfect opportunity for a blog posting.

  9. Tia Dia says:

    heheh…. melted lining…. I melted a few fabrics in my youth – not nice! The orange number will be very pretty when you’re done with it, and I just want to say YAY For The Bees! I’m fiercely cheering on bumblebees every year.

  10. jillybe says:

    I bet your client spent an hour cleaning up her iron!

    I’m with Tia Dia cheering on the bee population! I’m doing my bit, by planting a variety of tasty flowers & fruit trees for them (and not spraying with nasty bee-killers!) :)

    • mrsmole says:

      Yes, Jilly, the more research they are doing it seems it is not just the pesticides but also the fungicides that are sprayed on crops that are killing the bees…we must all keep writing to our lawmakers to make things change before it is too late. I live in a valley where vineyards and pears and peaches are grown along with most of our commercial veggies, less and less bees would be a tragedy that could and should be prevented.

  11. Pella says:

    That’s a pretty impressive melt on the blue lining. I suppose, ‘read the label, test the iron on an out of the way bit’ wasn’t in the vocabulary. I’m looking forward to the orange dress fix too.

    • mrsmole says:

      Who follows directions? I’m surprised they even had such fusible stuff around unless it was from a craft project. When the client came today to pick up her jackets, I told her if she wants to pull this trick again…please clip the stitches in the shoulder seam and slowly open it up instead of slicing through it…jeez.

  12. Sandra says:

    Mrs. Mole, You’ve outdone yourself with the Carlisle jacket rescue. The orange number will look lovely on that young lady — she surely has the shoulders for that style. And that’s a fantastic photo of your sunflower and baby bees; makes me want to go outside and take some photos. In fact, that’s just what I’m going to do! Looking forward to the next installment… and thanks; I enjoy your sewing adventures.

  13. Bunny says:

    I think the iron has already been tossed and replaced with a new one. No one but a sewing lover of her own specific iron would bother cleaning a melted on mess like this! Great save, once again!

  14. Shel says:

    Wow, an AMAZING save of the blue jacket. A lesser person would have just considered it a lost cause. Also looking forward to the continuing saga of the orange dress.

  15. Pingback: Off to the Ball | fit for a queen

Leave a Reply

