Specific Requests by Email

Besides weird phone call requests for my work at 7:30 in the morning up until 9:30 pm at night, I also get emails asking for weird or last minute jobs.

Here is one that came in this week:

I should first start by asking what your timeline would be for a skirt and top to be made for a late October wedding?  I’ve looked everywhere and can’t find a dress to suit me.  Now it is crunch time and I am getting desperate.
I think what I want is relatively simple, problem is, I don’t sew well and can’t seem to locate it in a store pre-made.  My daughter’s main color is chocolate brown.  I want a long, A-line, flowy skirt with a satiny underslip and an organza (or something sheer) overlay.  For the top, I’d like to use the same satiny fabric and have something made in a wrap blouse style, long or 3/4 sleeve, “V” neck.
My problem has been I have large upper arms and don’t want them bare and am larger up top.  I have pictures of what I like.  Just can’t find them in the right color.
Does these even sound do-able?  If you aren’t able to do it, do you know of anyone you could refer me to?
Bikermom

Let’s see…2 weeks before the wedding, has to be chocolate brown, long and flowing, V-neck, wrap front and satin and organza….hmmm. Some time between the engagement a year ago and now didn’t she think….chocolate brown outfit…I’d better shop around? I said no to this job because this type of outfit would surely make me nuts…

This next one came in and just made me laugh:

I live in Rxxx, out side of Jxxxxxxxxxxx.  I purchased organic wool yarn in hopes of making myself a jacket/sweater with it, However my knitting/crocheting skills are terrible and i need help.  What would be the cost if i bring the yarn to you to make me a jacket?

Thank you, cindy

Since nowhere on my real website does it say “knitting and crochet done”, I’m wondering what she has been smoking in her “farm” off-the-beaten-track hideaway?

But back to brides, and what did the 17 year old wear to her wedding???

P1160729 P1160705

Three point bustle with 4 layers of chiffon, 4 layers of gathered netting, vertical boning every inch WToo dress. The center back zipper was removed and I took 2 inches out of each side all the way down. The straps were re-enforced with 1/4 inch twill tape and moved more to the center to stay up. The bust area was heavily padded to fill out the bodice. P1160730 The one thing about taking in at the zipper is the fact that the more you take in and the fabric becomes diagonal the more you need more hooks and eyes at the top to keep it tightly closed so this girl got 2 and those 2 are the only things holding it on her.

A special survey for all of you:

Is this the perfect wedding dress? 3,000 brides pick every detail from sleeve style to embellishment to create £15,000 gown in the UK.

article-2453359-18AA19D000000578-847_306x423article-2453359-18AA19D000000578-972_306x423

Have a super week everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Specific Requests by Email

  1. theresa says:

    Well the dress looks beautiful and thanks for the good belly laughs this morning. OMG, you mean you won’t knit this lady a jacket??? ;) I’m going to be chuckling over that one for quite a while.

  2. mrsmole says:

    Maybe when the purple haze dissipates she may call someone else for that job?

  3. Susie says:

    Perhaps you need a knitting machine to round out your repertoire, Mrs. Mole! Gotta wonder what was going through that thick skull.

    Oh, a 17-year old bride. As beautiful as she was in that dress, I can’t bear to think about my 17yr old being her.

    And how sad that that a MOB procrastinated so long.

    • mrsmole says:

      Oh Susie, 17 yr old girls should be out exploring and shopping and flirting with boys…not marrying them! Back when I was 17 I worked every weekend at the Derweinerschnitzel hot dog stand for $1.30 an hour and full time during the summer just to pay my mother my insurance money to drive her car once a month…crazy!

  4. Jane Urbach says:

    Besides wanting you to complete it in 2 weeks, what she didn’t mention is that she is too busy to come for the 6 fittings (in the next 2 weeks) to get it to look just as she wants it. I have found that it takes about 6 visits to get things right. I just figured out after not really thinking about it, that a customer (male, size 3 -4 X) who is electric wheel chair bound and gave me a down payment for a pattern for an late Elizabethan period gown pattern, almost a choir robe, did not give me hardly enough for even gas money to make the 40 mile round trip to his house for the fittings of the pattern. Oh; also, it has to be designed so it does not tangle in the wheels. I am going to have to ask him to advance more or stop the project. Someone that size can’t buy a pattern, and is dependent on others. Oh well, live and learn.

    • mrsmole says:

      Oh Jane, I am so sorry you have this crappy project ahead of you!!!! Don’t you just love it when the person on the phone says “It will be easy for you to copy this piece?” I have had people tell me that they wanted me to make house calls when they were perfectly able to get to my house…who does this for the same hourly rate and no money for gas and extra time? Did the Elizabethans have wheel chairs…come on girl, get creative and spend days rigging up some sort of snap on-snap off contraption or Velcro apparatus…we are all supposed to be textile engineers! NOT! When I took on the giant condom project I thought I had lost my mind…so many lessons for us to learn! Thanks for sharing your burden…maybe it can be a little lighter now?

  5. Your bride’s dress is beautiful and looks lovely on – wonderful job.
    I think that it’s quite mean of you not to take a class and learn to knit and crochet and make that woman a Jacket! And why you wouldn’t be thrilled to sit up in the wee small hours sewing up a chocolate brown flowing satin organza ensemble for a woman who really only wants to show her head, beats me! I’d have ripped your arm off to get the chance to do this. LOL!

  6. mrsmole says:

    If only you lived closer, I would have sent her to you! These are the same people who call me to make embroidered covers for their beloved motorcycles. As Jane said above…6 fittings later….you might just have something close to what she wanted but it is just not worth the gamble and stress. I have knit and crocheted in the past…do Barbie doll clothes in 1958 count? Hell, I still have them and a couple of baby sweaters completed back in 1975 for my offspring…that’s enough.

  7. 15,000 for that? It seems that maybe, as is so often the case in a group decision making process, everything turned out really generic. It’s pretty, but not 15,000 worth of perfect-pretty.

    • mrsmole says:

      It could be that the inside of the dress has a lot of structure built in and it would not be made in a sweatshop in Bangladesh nor would it be practical polyester. It makes a nice change from strapless cleavage and back fat hanging over the edges! Have you seen Vera Wang’s latest bridal collection…ALL PINK!

  8. ‘Their lack of planning does not make it your crisis’ is what my husband usually says in those circumstances. Very true but it is still easy to feel on occasion that we are being unreasonable saying no! The previous comments are very accurate in the assumption that the job would have been a bear. Hang up your tape measure and get a glass of something girl!

    • mrsmole says:

      That’s right, Kim…and the fact that there are very few seamstresses that make from scratch in our valley makes it even worse. But…the big BUT…I am getting better at saying NO especially after a wild season of brides…this old body and eyes could do with a breather!

  9. Cindy Flagg says:

    I can’t tell you how excited I am to see a post from you in Bloglovin. Makes my day! The 17 year old bride dress is lovely!

    Cindy ( not affiliated with Cindy of Rxxx, out side of Jxxxxxxxxxxx – LOL)

  10. I felt very sorry for that poor 17year old but the dress was TDF so at least she has photo’s of her looking like a fairy tale princess even if her life isn’t. I have to wonder what has happened to girls and women of today did the 60′s ever happen? Gloria et al must be spinning,

    • mrsmole says:

      We are all here, wearing underwire bras and support underwear and waiting to crossover into the Social Security phase of life and fighting all the way. My favorite group back then was the Rolling Stones…and now looking at Mick Jagger at 70+ is just horrifying!

  11. Elizabeth C says:

    Oh dear, Mrs Mole . . . the giant condom project????? I thought I had read everything in your blog. How could I have missed that????? ;-)))))))

  12. Marsha says:

    Mrs. Mole, you’re such a sensible lady that maybe you can explain something I’m puzzling over. Why does the MOB’s outfit have to match her daughter’s color scheme? She’s not a bridesmaid, so she doesn’t have to wear the same ugly dress they’re all wearing. Can’t the mother just wear something that’s comfortable and flattering to her figure, as long as it’s not black or white? Maybe I’m being too logical here (and thankful that I have sons and not daughters.) When I got married back in the dark ages I didn’t dictate to my mom or mother-in-law-to-be what they had to wear.

  13. Shams says:

    But but but… don’t seamstresses MAKE their fabric? You DO have a loom, don’t you?
    I am glad you have no trouble saying no to these insane requests!! And that dress for the 17-year-old is gorgeous, as sad as that is.

    • mrsmole says:

      Oh Shams…some folks DO make their own fabric….LIKE YOU DEAR LADY! I know someone who has 2 or 3 looms but I dare not let my clients know about her….or she would get silly calls for her work as well!

  14. Valerie says:

    So you won’t spin the wool as well? I love your posts…
    BTW The 17 year old’s dress came out just lovely. I hope the marriage will be happy ..somehow

  15. LOL at the crazy requests…! Let’s see what you turned down: chocolate brown, custom designed two piece number due in two weeks AND the chance to master knitting so you can make a client a jacket. Goodness…what could you have been thinking?! All you can do is laugh…those kind will always be with us ;)

    The bridal dress turned out lovely…but, wow…17?! Come on, girls! Live your life and focus on YOU first…plenty of time for the other stuff after you know who you are :)

    The UK dress is interesting, although I’m not a big fan of all the crystals going on bridal gowns these days in addition to all the lace, corsetting, beading, pearls and other general tricking out! Seems a bit like overkill to me…but, what do I know?! I agree the top is SO much more refreshing than the overload of bare gowns we’ve been seeing (thanks, Real Housewives of Whatever County & assorted tacky celebs!).

    Hope this week goes smoothly, with only lovely clients!

  16. carmencitabs says:

    Your 17 yrs old bride is breaking my heart, when I was 17 I was backpacking all over Europe. At least her gown is something she’ll remember, it’s gorgeous!
    I have all these apples in my backyard, do you also make jam and jellies?

    • mrsmole says:

      I’m no earth mother Carmen, I don’t can, I freeze, if it don’t freeze, it gets turned into worm food. Most things freeze thank God! Can you turn your apples into juice or cider? I see people on TV renting presses and saving that nectar. Do you have a Food Bank in your town, they will take fresh fruit. We have daycare and after school programs that would welcome free fruit for the kids.

  17. Bunny says:

    The 17 year old gown is gorgeous. You did an amazing job for her. Now if only her parents had kicked in and taught her this is not the way to go. I bet her Mom is her best friend, though. As I said before, I know a family that did just this and you would not believe the nightmare it turned out to be and continues to be. Poor kid, fairy tale gown. Fairy tale marriage? I doubt it.

    • mrsmole says:

      Those of us who have lived long enough can see clearly what may lie ahead for such impetuous behavior…but we are not listened to. Not all parents have horse sense either…our job is to guide but who guided us?

  18. Monique says:

    Lovely gown for the young lady. Hope there’s a happy bride who’ll make a happy long time wife, but above all, a happy woman.
    Just disappointed that with your lack of loom and knitting machine, there’s also a lack of sheep, merino or otherwise, and silk worms in your garden.

    • Jane Urbach says:

      I just saw a wonderful ad from WWII Which wants all to take up knitting to help the war effort. One less thing for you to worry about. It is just a tad out of date, but “If you can knit, you can do your bit.” It was just a giggle to see it, after your latest request.

    • mrsmole says:

      The only worms I have in the garden are the ones I bought back in May and they live in 3 compost bins. They work away turning garden and kitchen waste into dark rich soil…and now the leaves are falling fast and they can have some colorful treats added in. Clients ask me if I quilt…even if I had the time I would always prefer fitting bodies and working with difficult fabrics. No sheep in my backyard either but plenty of alpaca ranches surround us. I even have bags of their wool ready for felting in my felting machine….one day when the brides stop coming.

  19. Barb Bachmann says:

    Hi Mrs Mole!! I hope that you are enjoying this beautiful day. I have a question, Do you know of someone local who cleans mechanical machines? I found an old Pfaff Hobby machine for my daughter for $15.00 Runs great but could use a good cleaning. Love, Penny Costl

    I enjoy getting your blog posts. c’mon surely you can whip up a knitted jacket with one of those machines you have. LOL

  20. Barb Bachmann says:

    Thank you!!

  21. sewbussted says:

    Isn’t it amazing that people who don’t sew think that people who do have all the time in the world to cater to their “simple” dress disasters. So glad you turned down the chocolate brown, well, we’ll leave it there ;)

    • mrsmole says:

      Yes, Rhonda, it is true that we are expected to drop everything and bail them out. Can’t imagine doing that to anyone like my hairdresser who works miracles already on my hair and telling her she HAS to work another miracle on short notice!

  22. prttynpnk says:

    Aw, that dress looks beautiful on her! Now I hope someone doesn’t get oil on it when they haul her into the back of a van and whisk her 17 year old self off for deprogramming…..

Leave a Reply

