Last Minute Requests

Here we are a week away from Christmas Eve and I am still getting requests from clients who have left things too late for help.

Hi,

I need my wedding dress altered and wanted to know if this is something you could do this week. Please contact me at 000-0007. Thank you!

The client was called and she said the wedding was Sunday so my question is, “When did you buy the dress and plan the ceremony?” But is seemed redundant at that point since I could not squeeze her in.

Last Thursday, I got this email from another Sunday event, notice the hours she wants me to work around and fit in with her schedule:

I have a long sleeved lace dress I am looking to get fitted.. The phone number listed on your website was disconnected. My schedule is tricky for the next couple of days, 9am-9pm, and I need the dress completed by Sunday. Are you able to help?

This client would have expected me to see her possibly Saturday and have the dress finished by the next day and the fact that she must have dialed the wrong number since my phone is working fine, it was good that I did not have time nor the inclination to work with her.

This next babe wants pure fantasy:

http://movies.disney.com/frozen/characters/elsa
Hello my name is Selena and I have a few questions about a costume I have in mind. I was wondering what it might cost to get something like that made? I was hoping to get a dress made like Elsa’s on the new Disney movie Frozen.  I am not sure if you are able to do anything like that even.  I know you probably can’t give an exact price but maybe just an estimate. 

Luckily I was able to pass her over to a friend of mine who might like to tackle a costume in between her other projects.

Back in the real world, Nancy’s teal top got finished with some deviations from the original directions. I lined the top with bright tricot lining after taping the back neck edge and front neck edges.1-neck-interfacingtape-edgecovered-snapssingle-binding2-understitch3-side-seams The neck binding was too thick to be doubled so I made it a single layer, and the back hem was done with a Hong Kong finish with teal bias binding out of Ambiance rayon lining which was also used to cover the big snaps on the inside of the fronts.4-hem-wrap6-hem-binding7-inside-hem Instead of just putting the side seam together, I wrapped the back over the front since it had already been lined.9-ready-for-hemming10-back-of-pleatsinside-snap The front pleats were stitched in the ditch from the front to secure. The finished top just before steaming and out the door:

frontback

Our snow lasted a week on the ground and during this time we discovered our car heater decided to stop working so today Mr Mole has an appointment to take it in for repairs.

I have 2 new brides coming this week for Jan and Feb wedding dates so that will keep me busy!

Stay warm and dry and be sure to give yourself permission to have some delicious seasonal foods and relax with loved ones this week. Mr Mole and I will certainly be looking forward to having one day off next week to open presents and cuddle.

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Last Minute Requests

  1. Valerie says:

    Dear Mrs Mole. It may be time to put a disclaimer on your website, something like “As my services are in high demand last minute alterations will not be considered at any time”.
    Greetings of the season to you and Mr Mole :)

    • mrsmole says:

      Thanks Valerie…I should do that but at least I do have a good message on my answerphone saying I am booked through December so that takes care of last minute projects and loan/credit card companies wanting my business.

  2. Bunny says:

    Your skills do have a way of attracting the entitled! Great job on the top and nice photos. Enjoy your break and cuddle time with Mr. Mole. Love his garden pics on Pinterest, BTW.

  3. theresa says:

    Dang, and I was hoping to gave a Frozen costume too! LOL- what a week. The full moon, has arrived. The tunic is lovely.

    • mrsmole says:

      You always know when that full moon has returned don’t you, Theresa! But then you have that on your blog to remind all of us…ha ha! I try NOT to do cartoon character costumes…or any costumes…brides bring enough drama!

  4. I love the comment by Valerie – to the point without being impolite.
    Yup, they are out here in the UK too. I have knocked a couple back since Saturday. Clearly we are meant to sew 24/7 all 365. Because we want to – don’t we?
    (Enjoy your time off with Mr Mole!)

    • mrsmole says:

      Ha ha Kim…it is like “well you DO have a sewing machine…can’t you patch my tent/sleeping bag/motorcycle cover/dog bed?” NO, we get to specialize and narrow our work down to something we like and can manage within a time frame. We both have clients/friends we would stay up all night to do a quick turnaround for but thankfully they are few and far between! Stay warm and enjoy the holiday season!

  5. Tia Dia says:

    *snort* “Back in the real world”…. indeed!!! Enjoy your cuddle time!

  6. mrsmole says:

    You too, Tia! You have been busy cranking out clothes too!

  7. Jane Urbach says:

    I have a friend who makes many Renaissance basics, (she has an on-line store and hauls the store to several events) and always referred her custom orders to me. I have never gotten a customer from it, It seems like some people think that doing a one OFF should cost less than her mass produced in many sizes. She buys her fabric and trims wholesale in bolts. For example one couple wanted 2 T-Tunics, basically the old angel costume with keyhole necklines faced in a different color, a matching band of color above the hem, and sleeve hems. One for a man and one for a woman. Nothing said about the underdress/shirt or what size or what they wanted it made from. (Cotton, wool ,linen etc.) and they expected me to give an estimate of the price.without any of the above information. They never get back to me when did I list some of the minimum requirements with prices for fabric, etc. I don’t do costumes any more, but I remember a young lady who just wanted a “simple full length princess line dress in one color with gores in a different color” I told her in about 1988 it would probably be $80 for sewing only and she had to buy fabric also. She was about a size 8 with a very full bust line so no pattern was going to fit her. She was insulted because she could buy a complete dress at Mervyns for $25. Heaven only knows how it would fit her. I just looked at her and didn’t say any more. People have no concept as to the cost of things. I was at a sewing store just last week and the sales man told me of a customer who was amazed that he could get the machine to sew decorative stitches all those colors, he was using varigated thread. The amazement of the blind with perfectly good eyes.

  8. mrsmole says:

    OH Jane…what we have experienced could fill a textbook! Costumes….if Mervyns (now Kohls) stocked costumes we would have a way easier life! I live near a nationally recognized theater with a full time cast of 400. When people meet me for the first time they always ask why I am not working for them, that theater troupe, like making costumes that have to fit all sized bodies and require Velcro for all openings. Like this is the pinnacle of sewing!!! Costumes are NOT clothes…they don’t have to fit, they merely satisfy the need for fantasy and will be worn once or twice. Throwing money into them is wasteful and stupid unless you can dress up a lot and go to Renaissance fairs regularly. Your friend must have found the right combo to sate her clients’ need for wandering through the realm of the past…we remain in the present. Have a super holiday season!

  9. As long as there are people offering much needed services, especially when they’re as talented as you are, there will ALWAYS be self-focused folks thinking you exist to serve them on their time schedule and whim. Must be a Murphy’s Law or something: the closer to a big event, the more crazies come out wanting last minute miracles – for very little $$$ ;)

    LOL at your question to that last minute bride…perfect! What could she have been thinking?!

    Put your phone on ‘answering machine’ mode, put your feet up, and enjoy the holidays!

    Can’t wait to see more of your work in 2014!

  10. mrsmole says:

    Thank you, Carolina…wishing you plenty of free time in your sewing room to wander around and get inspired for 2014! You may have something there…the closer the date, the crazier the client…the inverse square law…halve the distance from an x-ray machine to the patient- you double the dosage…expecting this applies to sewing projects…it just might!

  11. June says:

    Enjoy your only day off!!!

    In my work, I’m shielded from direct contact with the crazies, but the stories I hear about demands from potential clients with bizarre feelings of entitlement… Well, trust me, it’s not limited to brides, LOL.

    • mrsmole says:

      It is hard to imagine being so careless or carefree as to leave things until the last moment and expect things to be whipped up in a frenzy…but those folks are lurking away just waiting…ha ha.

  12. Mitch says:

    You could tell her that your magic sewing wand is out of fairy dust. I work with an unrealistic artistic director for a dance company. After offering to make a tutu bodice 10 weeks before the performance, she decides that she wants it 9 days before dress rehearsal. Apparently, I work miracles & don’t need sleep. Such is the life.

  13. mrsmole says:

    Sadly we are all in the same boat with last minute requests…I hope your project only involves one tutu bodice and not one for every dancer…fingers crossed! I’ll bet even Santa’s elves get a nap in the busy season!!!!

  14. JillyBe says:

    Your client expectation posts always give me a chuckle! And more resolve to practice saying “No.” No is such a nice word. Yes, yes it is.

Leave a Reply

