Suspenders and Suspense

Some of my friends and the generous professional people whom I rely on to keep me from aging quite so fast call on me from time to time for favors. Sometimes we even do trades.

This week I was given a few strange objects….see if you can figure out what they will eventually become….Let’s start with these:P1180503

Sort of tubes socks with padding inside:

P1180490

Yes, they are padded inside and shaped to wrap around something…you can buy your own here at Amazon.

What next? P1180492-2

Yes, did you guess correctly?…button suspenders or braces depending where you live. Here is what they started out looking like. I cut the leather ends off so I could attach the buttonhole ends on instead.

Right…now why would anyone want to do that?

It’s coming…please be patient.

P1180502P1180486

Part of the excess suspender elastic was attached inside the yellow tube to reinforce it and a button was added on the outside.

Hey fascinating isn’t it? Is this an instrument of torture or bondage?

Well, in a way, yes and no.

Let’s move on…we have the tubes, we have the buttons and we have the altered suspenders…now what?

P1180481

Here they are flattened out on my machine table…but they will not be used in this position…oh no…they will be worn this way around:

P1180501

Weird? Creepy? Not if you owned a dog that could not stop chewing and licking it’s elbows until they were raw.

See the lucky recipient, Miss Di, modeling the finished product:                          

20141228_192002

Action shot above and being still below:20141228_192350

Now Miss D can walk around and lie down and still have her elbows covered and be STYLIN’!

So even though wedding gowns are the main event here, you have to be versatile enough to work with clients who have “special needs”.

As Tia Dia mentioned this week…let’s have a wadder-free year in 2015!

So measure, measure, measure before you cut and if you HAVE to make just one more baby doll dress with a Peter Pan collar be sure to check out La Sewista’s latest post!

Lastly, if you have a hankering for the wild side of stitching…don’t forget to visit and submit your entries to Anne at Pretty Grievances for her Jungle January jamboree! It’s going to be a great 2015 year for making new things and stretching ourselves past the old T-shirts!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Suspenders and Suspense

  1. Tereza says:

    I wish you a wadder-free year too!

  2. Ines says:

    1) Why does she chew her elbows?!!! 2) how on earth did you come up with this brilliant contraption?!! Elbow protectors? I had no idea those even existed !

  3. Linda T says:

    Fabulous creation! I, too, have had to get creative over the years for “medical devices” for my many pets. Some have been adapted to by the recipient; some not and just got chewed up.

  4. Susie says:

    That’s so sweet. I would do the same for my dog, except that I expect she would just chew the covers off.

  5. Tia Dia says:

    hehehehe…. loved the suspense part of this. Very ingenious!

  6. Theresa says:

    Brilliant! I am saving this idea. Often old dogs just seem to wear out there on those elbows and hocks. More sleeping, less doing, who knows, but even the small ones get little sores there from time to time as they age. Lucky Miss Di! and with those braces it’s a perfect solution. I bet she gets few more pairs of those padded elbow protectors too!

  7. Love it! What a brilliant idea 🙂

  8. fabrickated says:

    Mrs Mole’s custom wear for discerning Miss Dog. I love the way they are even colour coordinated! I have a little horror of seeing pets dressed up for Christmas, Halloween etc, feeling it is somehow a little humiliating (but why am I projecting human anxieties on to the dogs, for goodness sakes?), but this is a “medical device” as Linda T notes. I hope it works. And glad you are back and making us smile. Happy Days Mrs M.

  9. That is an excellent idea! I am surprised the pet shops or vets havent thought of it already! Happy sewing to you too! I wont say “no wadders” cause “wadders” happen! (In my world anyway!)

    • mrsmole says:

      Sometimes wadders happen when we don’t measure us and the paper pattern…if you plot your measurements and bust points on the paper things have a better chance of working unless the designer was half asleep when they made the pattern.

  10. Shams says:

    LOL. You really had me going there! What a great solution for that lovely doggie!

  11. Brilliantly thought out. Don’t we get asked to do some weird things?
    Glad the dog is comfortable now.😃

  12. sewbusylizzy says:

    Love it. All that dog needs now is an Elizabethan neck collar to wear!

  13. prttynpnk says:

    I love it! Dont drug that pup- dress her up!!!
    Thanks for the good read- Im off to view Peter Pan collars over coffee.

  14. Connie says:

    I hope the dog gets over her elbow obsession. Most of us cannot reach our elbows with our mouths. The suspenders and socks are a great idea, you are brilliant.

    • mrsmole says:

      So now you know one solution to this elbow problem. I used to have dogs and cats but with sewing the big white dresses, I can’t risk any damage that an animal might cause for now.

  15. symondezyn says:

    So creative!! Lucky puppy to have such a caring human ^__^ I hope she feels better soon 🙂

    I second that cheers to a wadder-free 2015!!!

  16. Andrea says:

    Brilliant, Mrs. Mole, and so much kinder than those damn cones. One of our dogs has a penchant for licking her paws until they are raw. I can use this idea, by applying a harness that we already have, and attaching padded socks with grippy bottoms that she can wear when she gets in that licking mode. Sometimes even with the cone she can still get to her paws. ‘Necessity is the mother of invention.’ Thank you for sharing!

  17. accordion3 says:

    Cute puppy. Sadly a wadder free 2015 is not my reality. Everyone else can relax. Hoping things improve from here on.

  18. BeaJay says:

    Just wanted to say a huge thank you for the advice you left on my blog. I shall try those alterations and let you know the outcome.

Leave a Reply

