One is Not Enough

Call me crazy but this season I have have had 3 brides already who bought dress number one and then fell out of love with it and went back and bought dress number two.

But one bride has gone completely off the charts with 3 dresses.

Her first $1300 Love Marley Watters dress was “too revealing and needed more back straps” like this dress, so at her first fitting I showed her how we could replicate her dream dress version with criss-cross straps and extra loops. The zipper would be taken in too for a nice tight fit. Add a simple one point French bustle and voila’ just what she wanted…

P1190151P1190149

Until she decided what she REALLY wanted was more lace and more coverage, so she bought this $3000 dress from Grace Loves Lace of Australia which seems to have very little lining:

inca-1inca-2inca-3inca-4

But then the thought occurred to her:

I purchased some nice wedges and another simple ivory dress from Free People which came earlier today. I thought it might be nice to have as a dancing dress if the Inca became too much to wear all evening. I’m sensitive in that way and always choose comfort over style even though the Inca felt very comfy. I was more worried about getting sweaty on the dance floor and wanted something free and loose. So it’s no surprise that after spending some time in this 3rd dress that I like the way it feels the best.
That being said, I think I will still keep the Inca in case I want to go with a more traditional gown instead of a simple dress. I’m attaching an image of the final dress choice just for fun! It’s a size 6 and a bit big so I reordered a 4… Who knows, I may be calling you again!!

summer-ladysummer-lady-2

So dear readers for $148 she will be wearing this dress.

The one good thing about this bride is that she wanted to pay me for the first fitting and sent a check. I wish her well and hope that she doesn’t change her mind again before the wedding date!

With 3 weddings this weekend and 3 weddings next weekend, I’m running around my sewing room like a headless chicken and don’t know how some of you can create blog posts so often, even daily, with such interesting content…such variety, quilting, felting, dyeing and re-organizing your sewing room and your lives…Holey Moley! Bless you and stay cool!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to One is Not Enough

  1. Meg says:

    Wow, three dresses. I wonder if she knows whom she will marry, if she cannot decide which dress to actually wear. Good for her, though, that she’s paid you for your work. You’ve been stiffed in that department!

  2. prttynpnk says:

    I’m sorry- this person doesn’t know their mind! You make a decision and you steel yourself- ‘this isn’t the right choice, but I will embrace it and we will be happy’ . Ok. I was really thinking about the 1st husband, not the dress- I still like that dress.

  3. Tia Dia says:

    Well, they all are backless, more or less, so she’s consistent on that point. And I confess to sympathizing with her a bit about having choice! I loved my dress (which wasn’t at all what I initially wanted, but it was a $5200 Italian-made silk dress on clearance for $800 back in 1990… so how could I pass it up?!) but I probably would have happily gone through a wedding ceremony many more times just to wear a different dress each time! I just can’t get over the cost of dresses. I don’t know how they can afford to pay so much for a dress they’ll wear once. Do they sell them again and recoup some of the cost? Yikes.

    • mrsmole says:

      Some brides claim they will sell their dresses but the prices drop to less than half on the open market especially if it is been altered! Having had 2 weddings, and never worn a wedding dress…all this is just overwhelming at times.

  4. Nearly $5k in dresses alone…how much is the wedding going to cost?? At least it stimulates the economy!

    • mrsmole says:

      But not in a good way for local people…all dresses are made in China or Australia. She could have ordered a dress made in New York and saved time and money.

  5. Sharon says:

    Brides never cease to amaze me.
    Want to bet she changes her mind again?

  6. splendidcakes says:

    First world problems, eh?

    • mrsmole says:

      It is sad that this bride has used up so many resources, aka factory made fabrics and labor, to satisfy her whims…as Sharon says…what if she changes her mind again?

  7. birdmommy says:

    It always seems like you get the most interesting gowns from Australia! I wonder what the factors are that make their bridal industry so different?

    • mrsmole says:

      More lace and more skin? The lure of having a dress that none of your friends will have? Wearing something expensive and imported…all of the above?

  8. Karen Lyon says:

    That last dress looks like she tangled herself in her sheets after a fitful sleep. The girl has more money than sense! Have a nice weekend! Karen

    Date: Thu, 18 Jun 2015 09:49:15 +0000 To: grumpykaren@hotmail.com

  9. Good grief…that last dress looks like she wrapped herself in a bottom sheet…lol. Very odd choices…of course, we have people like Beyonce, Kardashian and J Lo (2015 Met Gala “gowns”) to thank for all the barely ‘covered’ flanks showing…! Wouldn’t you just love to see the pics from THIS wedding? πŸ˜‰

    • mrsmole says:

      I always ask for photos but normally only get some from one out of the 50 dresses I alter…but one can suffice if the bride was a delightful one. That last dress has no support or style but as the temps get higher it may be the most practical.

  10. fabrickated says:

    Actually I rather like this girl’s choices. She is a free spirit and wants to feel nice and airy and light on her big day. I agree the Australian’s have a nice attitude to their dresses – warm weather and a beach culture mean an informality that we see less of over here or in the US. Making a decision on an important dress is quite hard – which amongst us have not changed outfits several times before an interview or a big social event? I admit I had two wedding dresses (first time round) – one white from a sale at Liberty and one a pink, 1940s style peplum suit I made myself. I regretted the white wedding dress once I tried it on at home (it wasn’t very expensive).

    • mrsmole says:

      The issue with the first dress was that it did not offer support or coverage and the bride told me she was uncomfortable and wanted more structure to contain her post-baby body so it ends up she just needed a cottony wrap dress with no support at all and a very open back…who knew?

  11. jay says:

    All nice dresses, none of which say ‘wedding’ to me, but hey, its her day.

    • mrsmole says:

      She and her groom were just going to show up at someone’s birthday party and secretly get married but now it has turned into a full-blown 3 dress wedding. Yes, it is her day and she will have spent a lot of foolish money.

  12. June says:

    The physics of dress #2 mystify me. Surely a bride would give and receive many hugs… how does it not fall off the shoulders when the bride moves her arms?

    • mrsmole says:

      Yes, June it needs some sort of tether back there doesn’t it? Lots of these dresses look good on models who do not move but I tell my girls…you are the star of the day and are expected to move, hug and toss the bouquet and dance so let’s make the dress do all those things and wear comfortable shoes!

      • CHERYL DESIGNS says:

        Mrs Mole πŸ™‚ Way back in the 80’s our solution to those LOW CUT…. Shoulders APART gowns, sometimes with GIANT ‘DYNASTY’ SHOULDERS πŸ™‚ …. was a fishing line attached to each side and a button and loop to connect them πŸ™‚ It was basically INVISIBLE but kept that GOWN UP on their shoulders πŸ™‚ I always placed my button and loop at one side or the other…… Just invisible line across the upper shoulders. There REALLY was no other option 😦 That was back in the days when PAGEANT contestants used SILVER DUCT TAPE to tape breasts and bottoms 😦 WOO HOO 😦 Now there is invisible fashion tape and adhesives….. Times change πŸ™‚

  13. selina says:

    Well she knows she likes backless! She seems like a nice lady. Maybe she really just wants her dress to be perfect. I have friends who’ve bought more than one outfit to wear to a wedding just as a bog standard guest I like the first one. The second one would be fab with lining. The third one’s a bit boho for a square bear like me. Please let us know if you hear from her again Mrs mole. Selina

  14. Linda Craig says:

    Do I have it right, she has a few kids & there is this much fuss over a dress?

    • mrsmole says:

      Yes, Linda…she has lost her mind and control over her wallet. For all that money she could have had a simple structured dress that held all her parts, flattered her body and still had leftover change to have a nice trip away from the kids.

  15. sewruth says:

    Do you ever get invited to the wedding? Because in this case you could turn up and see her wearing a different dress altogether – she might have 2 or 3 seamstresses working simultaneously!

    • mrsmole says:

      I never thought of that, Ruth. This could really have gone out of control. I was invited once to a wedding that was held in Yellowstone National Park, in Wyoming, in the Great Lodge but it was during the season, of course, and I can’t leave my sewing room until January.

  16. erniek3 says:

    I like that she ends up with a dress that’s machine washable (at least that’s what the listing says). And I thought I was the only bride who ended up with that!
    And Mrs Mole, you didn’t make yourself a wedding dress? Oh, the shoemakers’ children go barefoot, it’s true!

  17. mrsmole says:

    Both of my dresses were handmade, both washable, just street dresses that could be worn anywhere. Two witnesses, no honeymoon, no fuss, no muss and after the first one lasted 21 years, the second one will surpass that this year and be the last one as Mr. Mole is a keeper. I like it when a bride arrives with a washable dress or a white bridesmaids dress that was under $200 so she can enjoy her day and not regret her credit card bill later!

  18. symondezyn says:

    wow, I can only imagine what her soon-to-be husband will have to deal with – sounds like a real princess for sure πŸ˜›

  19. Pingback: Guess Who is Back? | fit for a queen

Leave a Reply

