Shark Attack

Yes, that is how the man described his son’s football jersey. It seems the son was playing the game for his high school team and was hit unconscious so the paramedics were called in.

Obviously, none of the scissor-wielding EMTs had any experience in the sewing field and decided to cut right up the center front of the shirt, across both front sleeves, into and through the elastic cuffs and halfway down the back instead of slicing up the side seams to remove it.

I have outlined the openings in green so you can see the damage….my job, if I wanted it, was to restore all the knit fabrics back to the original.

P1200067P1200069

Then I asked when they needed it finished…now you all know the answer don’t you?

Yes, today,  this afternoon in fact as there is a big game tonight and the son must participate in it even if it is only sitting on the team bench while recovering from a concussion. So first things first…make the raw ragged edges meet and slap down some strips of fusible tricot interfacing, press with the iron and flip over to the right side and stitch down the middle.

P1200070-front-sleeveP1200071-frontP1200072-back-trimmed

All the excess fusible tricot interfacing was trimmed away:

P1200073-front-trimmedP1200074-back-trimmed

After an hour of fusing the tears and jagged edges together and stitching using a variable zigzag stitch we have the finished project…Hooray!

I have blurred out the name of the team above the number 1.

Here is the front:P1200077

You can see the color of the stitching on the white numbers was changed from red to white and the original open hole on the back was meant to be left open…a badge of courage according to the dad. This is the back:

P1200076

But not all in the sewing room is repairs…this week I got something done for me with the new Portland fabrics...yes I did!

Behold, two of the poly chiffons have now been made into sheer “Nancy jackets” and elongated in the back and a red slinky knit top added under one of them. Nancy likes hers to drape softly and remain open but I will probably attach a small black snap to the center front at the bust line to keep it closed as that suits my nature. Front and back views of the Monet fabric:P1190185P1200081

and the animal print with a red knit shell underneath:P1200082

The street sweeper truck came this morning to gather up all the remaining leaves in our cul-de-sac and snow flurries are predicted for this afternoon…a good day to stay in for sure. Happy Sewing everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Shark Attack

  1. Carolyn says:

    Wow! You handle some interesting items at times!!!

  2. Cookie says:

    New reader here. I Would love the pattern number for the Nancy jacket.

  3. Goodness, that’s quite a wound on the football shirt. And a great save by you!
    Lovely to see that you’ve been sewing for yourself .

  4. Martina says:

    That is an amazing repair job! I hope they frame it for posterity.

    • mrsmole says:

      Since this is the boy’s 4th and final year playing for his high school team, I’m sure something special will be done to honor his efforts. Thanks, Martina!

  5. Wow, I learned something in the post!!!! I will have to use the fusible interfacing trick!!!! Ingenious!!!! Love your top. Isn’t it nice to sew for yourself once in a while!!!!! Take care!!!!

  6. Colleen says:

    I agree, using the fusible knit interfacing was brilliant! I hope I don’t need to use this idea but I have learned to really appreciate that type of interfacing enough that I bought a bolt!! I imagine that boy had a huge smile on his face only matched by the relief on his parents face when they knew their son was OK!!

    • mrsmole says:

      Absolutely Colleen, if you have ever had a son injured on a team sport or through doing something stupid like I have, you are just relieved they survived! When I was teaching machine embroidery, I backed many projects with tricot interfacing to beef it up enough to hold the stitches…it is a lifesaver!

      • erniek3 says:

        My very experience (as the parent)! I am glad he’s sitting on the bench and that he CAN sit on the bench.
        And lovely work as always. All kinds served here.

  7. Valerie says:

    Now that you’ve saved a garment from a shark attack I guess that makes you a lifesaver 🙂

  8. Trish says:

    Great work on the football shirt. Those sort of jobs are my favourite, because they’re so creative and it’s great to make something that looks like it’s been destroyed able to be worn again. I have a client whose 17 year old son puts the most amazing rips in his pants and jeans, and I have great fun thinking up ways to make them disappear!
    I can’t believe you’re talking about snow flurries when here in Sydney today it was 36 degrees Celsius (96 degrees Fahrenheit). First day of summer and they’re predicting a hot one!🌞

    • mrsmole says:

      Thank you, Trish! We just finished the hottest summer ever recorded with 90 days of 90-100 degrees and no rain so rain and snow is welcomed! You have seen my garden produce this year…make sure you plant some veggies and let them spread!

  9. Robin says:

    My favorite thing about your blog is seeing the clever solutions. That was a smart & effective way to make that jersey wearable again. The scars are barely visible!!
    Your lovely new cardigans are so pretty – yay for sewing for you.

  10. mrsmole says:

    When the dad dropped off the shirt he said it was tight on the boy and did not want me to overlap the edges so I had to invent a way to connect the edges and stabilize them at the same time. Here’s hoping he and his shirt can survive the rest of the season!!! Those jackets take 2 hours to make and I’m looking forward to wearing them! Thank you, Robin!

    • I’ve used this method for making repairs to my cotton-blend dress shirts that tend to tear at the elbows while the rest of the shirt is in good shape. Before applying the fusible interfacing, I iron the torn area and use pieces of cellophane tape on the right side to temporarily hold the tear together, and then apply the interfacing, remove the cellophane tape from the right side, and then run zigzag stitching down the tear, just as you’ve done here. I’ve found, though, that the interfacing has a tendency to peel away from the fabric after a few wear, wash, and dryer cycles, so I now run an additional line of stitching (I usually use a three-step zigzag for this) about 3/8″ – 1/2″ from the tear. This helps to keep the interfacing in place, and also reduces pulling stress on the stitches that are directly over the tear.

      • mrsmole says:

        Sounds like a great technique, Ken. That 3 step zigzag is what I used and it is very strong and you can vary the length and width a bit too. You sound like a real handy guy to have around!

  11. Sharon says:

    All will see what a marvelous job you did on the jersey and surely your name will spread fast. In the event of a Sharknado hitting the Pacific Northwest, you’re gonna be a busy lady !

    • mrsmole says:

      When the dad left he asked if I do other things involving sewing and I reminded him that I really only do wedding gowns and he said he knew he was lucky I took pity on him…so I hope no more jerseys will find their way to me!

  12. June says:

    Badge of honor, ha ha, but argh, concussion. That is scary stuff. Glad he is OK.
    I like the interfacing trick, I have used it to “mend” the holes that appear right over the belly button on t-shirts (likely from leaning against the counter as I do dishes, etc).

    • mrsmole says:

      Me too, June…holding my t-shirts up to the light, I find tiny holes right where my tummy hits the edge of the sink or bathtub and then they either get repaired of relegated to the “cleaning day” clothes collection.

  13. That’s quite the contrast! A chewed up jersey and those beautiful chiffon jackets. Nice work, but if your left messy repairs on the jersey he might have looked like the Hulk!

  14. maryfunt says:

    Happy to hear the football player is OK. Head injuries are scary. Nice repair job and it’s good to see you finally got a little sewing time for yourself.

  15. Well done again Mrs Mole. I really hope the boy was able to just watch the game – and that he was in better shape than his jersey!
    Your jackets look lovely. Are there going to be bare brides this weekend or have you been working the night shift?

    • mrsmole says:

      Really…you want more brides? Yes, I have them and have been doing more quick turnarounds for the fancy ladies in town as the charity balls are tonight and Saturday and they all seem to have waited until the last minute for alterations. Some have even ordered from “Rent the runway” and asked for quick hems that can be snipped and restored to the original length before returning in the mail.

      • Noooo! No brides here please. I’m almost afraid to say it since the holiday season is nigh – but things are astonishingly under control here. Please don’t tell anyone or they will find me something to do in a hurry too.😉

  16. Tia Dia says:

    So lovely to see “your” sewing. I love that animal print. I do hope you get special mention at the game or in the dressing room or SOMEWHERE for repairing that jersey.

  17. mrsmole says:

    OH NO NO, Tia….please keep the secret…no more jerseys, thank you! Maybe I should send any to you???

  18. symondezyn says:

    Amazing salvage on the jersey, and I love what you’ve done with your beautiful prints – what a lovely way to showcase the fabric! ^_^

  19. MIchaelC says:

    Another great job. Just did this to my favorite dog walking shirt. I love that old rag. Those chiffons are lovely. Nice to do something for your best client now and then. No new machines?

  20. mrsmole says:

    Nope, no new machines needed although I did buy a small one for my oldest daughter who works at a detention facility (school for bad boys) and when the boys need something repaired or mended, she can help out. Hopefully there is still plenty of fabric in your dog walking shirt to patch!

Leave a Reply

