End of Year Push

Holiday times and I was given a red sleeveless brocade lined dress, like a MOB dress, that had to have the shoulders shortened by 2 inches each…the woman did not bother to buy the petite version which would have fit her perfectly. So, I agreed to undo the entire shoulder seam and lining and shorten everything and also shorten the hem by 2 inches and the skirt lining and restitch the invisible zipper as it was torn away from the center back seam. Sorry, website photo is so small.54036314_6960

Since I had worked on her blue MOB dress before and shortened from the waist, I said it would take me 2 hours.1-back

So the day she came to pick up the dress she asked if it had given me any trouble and I just said…it always takes longer than you guesstimate with the lining and all. Then she tells me that, “I sew, and I could have done it myself but I thought I would LET you do it”. Sure you do, Honey, and next time you can just tackle it yourself, too.

Then, the phone rings, we are a week away from New Year’s Eve and the woman says, “You probably don’t remember me but you sewed on my daughter’s prom dress many years ago and I want you to do something for me”. OK, I say, what is it? Well, she says she has just purchased the most darling, darling halter dress online to wear to her own wedding on Jan 3 in the Bahamas but the hips are too tight and she wants me to work on it. I tell her that I am booked solid until Jan 1st and will be closing the studio until Feb 1.

Then she says, “well, if you won’t work on my dress, I will have to return it, I only want you to work on my dress.” I try to give her the name of another seamstress who can do it and assure her that this other woman is perfectly capable of letting out side seams and it would behoove her to at least see this woman and then decide for herself because there was no way I would take on this project even with threats.

Just to share what was hanging in my sewing room on Christmas Eve:Christmas-brides-2015

Five dresses were ready to be steamed and picked up and paid for.

Hoping all your new 2016 projects get off to a fabulous start after lots of measuring. I will be trolling through my patterns and stash to make up a few things for myself before the February brides show up. Did I mention that 15 brides have already called to save the slots for the new season? It is time to re-charge my batteries and brain!

Happy sewing everyone and thank you for following these sewing room tales and adding comments. I love hearing from all of you and the sharing of your own trials and clients’ demands!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to End of Year Push

  1. Valerie says:

    I look forward to hearing your new bridal adventures. Thank you for the alteration sewing tips and techniques that you post .

  2. fabrickated says:

    All those different whites! And the steaming equipment. What an interesting world you inhabit dear Madam Mole. I am sorry that people are so rude when you do such amazing work for them. Anyway it is nice to think of you making a few items for yourself. But of course I am also looking forward to the bride stories which remain continually entertaining. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write up your projects and your continual, generous support and advice to all your readers.

  3. sewruth says:

    Brides in cotton jersey – that’s what you need…..
    Have a good break

  4. karen says:

    Enjoy your down time. Apres ca, la deluge! Sorry, my keyboard doesn’t run to French punctuation.

  5. Tee says:

    Enjoy your break. You deserve it!!!!

    • mrsmole says:

      You too, Tee…you work hard to make women beautiful for their special day and Lord knows it ain’t easy pleasing all of them…ha ha.Hoping for some inspirational sewing heading your way for 2016!

  6. Sarah says:

    My one-size-fits-all response to the guilt bomb, “How sad for you.” You’ll have to return the dress because you didn’t plan ahead? How sad for you.

  7. Elle says:

    Happy New Year! Hope you enjoy your month off, with sewing for yourself, dreaming over seed catalogs, and enjoying a bit of key lime pie and a few cocktails with Mr. Mole.

    • mrsmole says:

      Thank you, Elle…the key lime pie has made an appearance and cocktails and the seed catalogs will arrive in the mail soon…all in the circle of life…renewal and rebirth. Wishing you some quality sewing time too!

  8. Enjoy your break from ladies like that. So many lovely people but spoiled by calls from people who think you were just waiting for their call and following unreasonable demand (I did write request first but that is wrong).
    You really deserve to be treated better. Drink a cocktail for me!

    • mrsmole says:

      I will certainly kick back a few rum and Diet Pepsi cocktails for you in the next month! It is funny that folks call thinking that I am twiddling my thumbs…but my new answerphone message sets them straight when it says that they should make their appointment 6 weeks in advance…we shall see!

  9. Sally says:

    I love your blog! You share so many techniques & stories, thanks.
    Enjoy your well earned break.

    • mrsmole says:

      Sharing is the best part, Sally and with great readers and commenters, it makes it fun for me too! I follow so many blogs for tips and tricks and think the sewing sisterhood is just the best!

  10. maryfunt says:

    I’m happy to hear you are taking a (probably much needed) break. Hopefully you’ll have time for your own projects which get postponed to accommodate all those brides! Enjoy your holiday and I’m so looking forward to another year of your hilarious tales.

  11. S says:

    You have the patience of a Saint (though it does make for some funny stories). Enjoy your much-deserved break. I enjoyed you post about fitting a tee, too.

  12. mary says:

    I used to work in a fabric shop. Didn’t know much about sewing at the time, ironically. Anyway, a woman came in with a teenage girl. The girl needed a fairly modest dress as a graduation dress. They went with a flecked green jersey, and bought rhinestone strip trim to use as/or maybe on, the straps. The green was just the girls eye colour. If ever you get input on a gown…. that sounds comfortable, and flattering.
    Enjoy your rest. I think my blood pressure just went up a bit thinking about 15 brides, haha.

    • mrsmole says:

      Oh Mary, no one ever consults me about fabric, they just show up with a bag from JoAnn’s. I used to work in a quilt shop and knew nothing about quilting. I had to make samples for the store display like Block of the Month and cut strips of fabrics for kits. So glad the store owner closed her shop so I could be home sewing…I hate little squares and triangles…give me darts!!! 15 brides equals 15 blog posts…something to look forward too!

  13. prttynpnk says:

    Why do people always preface a sewing need with how they could do it themselves? Would you tell your surgeon that? Really people- it’s ok to admit you can’t do something and someone else has skills. Gees!?

    • mrsmole says:

      Exactly, it would be like telling your hairdresser that you could do as good a job at home but you will “let” her work on your hair…what a joke…or your dental hygienist…please!

  14. jay says:

    You don’t charge enough. Enjoy the break!

  15. MIchaelC says:

    Hope you enjoy your time off. Stay up late, sleep in. Make fun things.

    • mrsmole says:

      So far Michael, I have been taking naps and reading my Kindle on how to relax even more if there can be such a thing…ha ha. Napping right after breakfast and lunch sure makes the day speed by and by dinner time, I just don’t care if I did not accomplish anything at all. After 11 months of stress, no days off and sewing during night most nights, it is a royal treat to stop! Soon I will feel like making something fun, I’m sure.

  16. helenkosings says:

    Yes indeed – enjoy your break! I hope you will blog about the things you make for yourself as well as documenting the bridezilla madness you are so often subjected to. I think I would thoroughly enjoy a tv program based on your tales showing just how much work goes into the marvelous alterations (or should I say resurrections?) you do………then perhaps folks might not be so rude. Happy 2016!

    • mrsmole says:

      Thank you, Helen and Happy 2016 to you and may it be filled with loads more yarn! My husband says my blog would be a good sit-com but no one would believe how brides can be when they are standing on the red platform…well a few might.

  17. accordion3 says:

    Here’s to a restful break!

    I always enjoy your tales of woe and idiocy. I may well be joining the throngs of berks. My daughter has requested Vogue 1446.

  18. ceci says:

    I don’t understand why general rudeness and specifically denigrating your skills are supposed to convince you to take someone on as a client? Very confusing…..

    Ceci

  19. mrsmole says:

    It baffles me too. It is one thing to say hurtful things AFTER I have done the work but threatening me with sending a dress back is not very motivating.As Sarah has mentioned, “How sad for you” is a good response.

  20. Cactus says:

    Enjoy your break! It never ceases to amaze me what they come up with! Recently, one of my husband’s aunts (visiting from out of town for a wedding) found out I sewed when I gave a me-made baby quilt to a new mom. “You quilt? Can you hem a pair of pants for me?” She needed them for the upcoming wedding and wanted them done quickly. At the wedding, she’s wearing another outfit! Her excuse was she didn’t have proper shoes to go with the pants. Sigh. Gotta love family.

  21. Happy New Year! I love reading about your adventures in sewing! Have a good rest.

  22. Dara says:

    You are an excellent seamtress as well as a Comedian! Your post are such a bright spot in my day! Keep up the GOOD WORK! Happy New Year!

  23. Ellen says:

    Hi! I have been following your blog for some time now, such a great read! I am i tailor in Sweden, also altering lots of Asia-made dresses… I have just decided to get a separate phone that I can turn off when not working, people text and call late in the evenings, even on Christmas eve…. Rest is crucial and only the tailor/seamstress can draw the line, which I have been learning the hard way 😉 Always great to see your work, I have picked up some good tricks 🙂

  24. Kristine says:

    That’s a lot of brides (and wedding gowns) you have lined up before the year ended! I can’t wait to see the gowns. I can’t imagine how you managed not to get irritated by that “unwanted remark” from the “I sew, too” client, though. I would’ve probably popped a vein!

Leave a Reply

