Keeping the Bunnies in the Hutch

Some brides just expect that the dress will do more than it can possibly do.

The only thing holding this dress together is this strap with 3 small hooks and eyes with a small one inch under-flap. Again like with lace dresses these days, the lining is knit so it stretches and the lace screams/does not stretch. While the bride wanted the side seams to be taken in 2 inches so that the dress was skin tight from armhole to thighs, this also places even more stress on those 3 hooks!

P1200359

I suggested the under-flap be extended and a big snap added. A piece of nude woven polyester lining fabric triple thick was added inside.

P1200365P1200366

First, the male side was attached and then chalk is rubbed on the tip before placing over the location where the female side would be for accurate marking.

P1200367P1200368

Here it is snapped shut and secure….off the body. Once tried on, the snap kept popping open when she took a breath and the hooks were straining, so I thought it would need to be lengthened more and more snaps added.

P1200369

Second attempt to secure the back strap is this double thick strap of grosgrain ribbon with 3 large snaps:                         P1200390      P1200391 P1200392

To take in the side seams (red lines), the boning in the short facing had to be detached and moved over.

P1200360P1200361P1200362

Meanwhile the bride says she wants more seams taken in under the bust to be snugged right up under the bust and tighter and tighter to be a shelf for the bunnies. This photo shows the pins:

P1200388

Once everything is snugged up, the lining had to be hand tacked along the top edge where the pins are placed to keep it from sneaking up and out:

P1200358

The last view is of the front slit and back bustle…yes, this Faviana Glamour gown slit ends right at the panty line.

P1200388-3

Thank you to Anne of Pretty Grievances for the generous loan of her apropos  phrase,”Bunnies in the Hutch”.

Happy Easter Everyone and thanks for following my blog and leaving your comments!

 

 

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Keeping the Bunnies in the Hutch

  1. jay says:

    Mum used to quote Robert Burns at times like this ( often at my sartorial experiments)
    “…O wad some Power the giftie gie us
    To see oursels as ithers see us!”
    Hope the hooks hold now you’ve given them a booster.

    • mrsmole says:

      I too am familiar with that quote…so sharing these photos and stories just makes me shake my head and know you are being entertained as well, Jay.

  2. Sharon says:

    Obviously not a job for whimpy plastic snaps ! Wonder what song will be playing for their first dance. Whitney Houston’s “Waiting to Exhale” perhaps ?

    • mrsmole says:

      Whatever song will be playing the wind coming off the Pacific Ocean venue will be strong enough to blow that slit open and take all eyes off her bunnies.

  3. kathy says:

    Oh my – I hope that there’s no sitting and particularly no bending over involved at the wedding or the reception! LOL! Substantial hooks were definitely in order.

  4. Tia Dia says:

    I have no kind or flattering words for this dress on this bride. It’s just awful and sleazy all around. Too bad there wasn’t a request for an FBA, because those bunnies are just waiting to escape. Ugh. A lot of interesting entertainment in your sewing room as always, Mrs Mole!

  5. Sandra says:

    Goodness me! She’s a buxom wench isn’t she? Channelling her inner Jessica Rabbit by the look of it

  6. justineabbi says:

    That is an engineering feat there!

  7. mary anne says:

    those bunnies better not get any fluffier. I don’t know why you have a tongue left. I would have bitten mine off long ago. I love the Robert burns quote. think of it often myself!

  8. Cynthia says:

    Your skill is amazing, no doubt about that but all I could think when I saw her in the dress was the word, vulgar.

    The combination of the slit, and the boobage just screams slutty, no blushing bride here!

  9. sewruth says:

    You had me at the title!

  10. Fabrickated says:

    Ha ha ha. This is the best yet.

    I love Anne’s “bunnies in the hutch” expression – meaning your post could be read in complete safely at work, despite our censoring softwear system. Although you did a great job Mrs Mole I can hardly bear to look. There is no mystery here for the husband, or the entire congregation. Let’s hope the “egg hunt” goes well for these newly weds.

  11. Char says:

    I hope there’s a portable defibrillator available if Grandma is at the wedding. This dress might work for some occasions, although one doesn’t leap to mind immediately, but a wedding isn’t one. Love seeing your ingenious solutions!

  12. symondezyn says:

    Maybe appropriate for the wedding night, but I’d be embarrassed to have my “assets” falling so far out my clothing in front of my relatives and in-laws! Yikes! 😛

  13. Still howling with laughter. I presume this darling plans to stand all day and eat nothing. I don’t think I can add anything to what has already been said.

  14. Pam says:

    A bit of cleavage is fine, but that is just awful! Who is she trying to impress? A previous boyfriend? See what you’re missing? If I was her mother I’d be so embarrassed, goodness knows what her parents think of it.

    • mrsmole says:

      She is an older bride so probably there will be no parents attending. So many brides want to show off their assets to make the old boyfriends jealous but who knows? All I know is that she will be freezing standing in the wet sand on the beach with the North wind blowing!

  15. Ines says:

    Oh wow! Im thinking those bunnies are more out of the hutch than in! But I guess that’s just a question of perspective !

  16. maryglenn says:

    I agree with Ines. . The bunnies are already out of the hutch! Great upholstery job.

  17. Celeste says:

    I have heard that a flattering dress will expose ONE area; bust, leg, or back, but never more than one. This bride did not get that memo, obviously. I wear more than that when I go swimming…

  18. Ann says:

    I wonder if those bunnies have been ‘enhanced’ surgically. Ladies who’ve invested heavily in their ‘assets’ often want to show them off! I love your blog. thanks for sharing all these stories. I agree with the reader above who said she’d have no more tongue left from biting it!

    • mrsmole says:

      I see so many enhanced busts these days and those are the ones that need no bust pads. So, yes these bunnies are quite perky and high on an older woman.

  19. erniek3 says:

    You weren’t tempted to reverse the hooks and snaps? Trousers type hooks first, and a snap to keep the thing covered up?
    Or perhaps a metal cinch buckle, the type for holding down the tarp sides on the semi?
    It will be a very exciting wedding. Not a question of ‘if’ but ‘when’.

    • mrsmole says:

      You are right, Erniek…after the next try-on, I may do that very thing and use a trouser hook. I even thought about a button and buttonhole so we shall see.

      • Val says:

        Gotta say trouser hooks would give me more confidence — line 2 or 3 of them up across an extended flap or strap. Or how about this: a double layer of 1.5″ or 2″ wide grosgrain or twill tape secured to the side seams to basically hold the dress up and close that with trouser hooks or a bathing suit closer; then snap the outside dress to the support strap. Maybe put a teeny pinch of elastic in the support strap.

        Hey: even better idea: have the bride bring in a bra with at least 3 hooks. Cut it in pieces and sew the “sides” of the bra to the side seams of the dress so the dress is held up by the structure of the bra sides and back and then the outer dress just closes on top, over the bra.

        Serves the bride right if she has to keep a hand on the top of the dress through the entire reception to keep it up.

      • mrsmole says:

        Great ideas, Val…I’m going to take a look at them, the main issue is the stretchy lining and the lace not stretching. All in all, it is very thin and anything I add shows through to the right side. What this woman needs is a bolero or a parka for her beach wedding!

      • John Yingling says:

        When strength is needed to hold in those ginomous bunnies, don’t use snaps, but use the largest size hook and bars you can fit onto the strap or stress point. Then be sure to really sew the hardware down securely. Notice I mentioned bars and not “eyes”, much easier to attach hooks to bars than eyes. You can get any size you need at tutu.com, and yes they supply closures, fabrics, etc. for the ballet costume crowd. Trust me, even stick thin ballerinas what their bodices as tight as possible, “but you won’t have any room to breath! that’s ok, I want to look really skinny!”

  20. Valerie says:

    Definitely a ‘look at me’ dress. Great job on making sure the upholstery stays put Mrs Mole.

  21. Jane says:

    All she needs to complete the kartrashian esthetic is some butt injections. Vulgar indeed.

    • mrsmole says:

      Kartrashian…love that! If this was a Vegas wedding, she would be perfect but picture blowing sand and possible wind and rain and barefoot…I get goosebumps just thinking of it!

  22. jenniboy74 says:

    Great job! I did a grad dress last year with the same kind of back. Brand new and the two tiny little hook and eyes were already falling off. I took them right off, sewed in a pants hook and eye so they didn’t show, and then hand stitched in some matching (because I’m lucky like that, don’t normally have it) fold over elastic in a bra shape inside, to the lining that helped hold it up. The graduate loved how it felt (I didn’t have to make it fit super tight like you did) because, even when someone stepped on her little train, the dress never moved.

    • mrsmole says:

      The more I think about it and look at it, a pants hook seems like the answer. So many of my brides say no to small solutions and think that keeping all the original parts of the dress no matter how flimsy is the best choice but this dress needs some intervention…ha ha. Thank you jenniboy!

  23. MichaelC says:

    Some of these :”ladies” remind me of those “seen shopping at walmart” emails that go around. I guess reality show realness triumphs again. But then again “if you got em (and paid for em), flaunt the holy hell out of them. Not my look, but fun on others!!!

    • mrsmole says:

      Yes, Michael, they are out there and they live among us…and they find their way to my sewing room. Aren’t you lucky I get to share the adventure? I just don’t get the unnatural look of inflated breasts especially displayed like they are on a platter.

  24. Cookie says:

    Despite your excellent work, those bunnies are gonna make a break for freedom sooner or later. I am waiting for the YouTube video to go viral.

  25. Mem says:

    Oh dreary me what a skanky dress . I bet she has very big hair too . Jessica Rabbit is apt . How do you do it Mrs Mole ?

  26. mrsmole says:

    You got that right, Mem…remember, I don’t have to like the dress or the client to complete the job. If I didn’t have this blog to vent with…Mr. Mole would suffer the consequences and that would not be fair…ha ha.

  27. barb bachmann says:

    And here I was all excited cuz I thought you might have some real live bunnies for sale!!!
    Thanks for the giggle

  28. mrsmole says:

    Barb, you crazy girl….I love real bunnies and used to have them when I lived further down south. We had a male that was used as a stud for the local schools when they wanted to get their lady rabbits pregnant…”Major” was always ready for one of them to spend the weekend with him and go back to the classroom.

  29. prttynpnk says:

    Legal question- if the hooks pop and take out the organists eye- does she sue the church or the brides father?

  30. Bunny says:

    If this were my mom, I would just die. How you do it with a straight face I will never know. You’re amazing. Those bunnies WILL come out of the hutch and that is going to be some sight. I’ve got a feeling they may have seen a tassle or two in a previous decade.

  31. My Dad would have thrown a coat over me if he had to walk me up the aisle while I was wearing that dress! And I will throw a coat over my daughter if she tries to ever wear a dress like this!

  32. mrsmole says:

    Good taste must run in your family, Linda…I agree with you, think about the poor pastor having to look at that and not get distracted!

Leave a Reply

