Mom with a Camera

Not many brides show up with their mothers but when they do, they ask mom to take their photo with their phone to record the fitting experience. They both giggle and have a good time snapping candid shots and most of the time I have a laugh as well…until this time.

My bride was sweet and serene and just wanted something simple. Her mother had other ideas.

In the 40 minute appointment over 60 photos were taken with a real camera and zoom lens and at one point the mom even had the chutzpah to move my ironing board and expensive steam generator iron out of the way so she could get her semi-professional shots. I was commanded to smile and pose and do tricks like I was a trained seal instead of a serious seamstress. And no matter how much I stressed that I did NOT want my $500 iron and board moved across the room, she insisted that SHE did not want it in the photos.

At one point I wanted to shout, “You’re not Annie Leibovitz, as even Annie L. would respect another person’s equipment”. In fact this went on for so long, I did not even get to take any of the shots I usually take with being an accessory/prop to this photo shoot.

After they left, I asked the bride to have her mom send me a couple views for the folder. Here is what I got:

DSC_9458-2DSC_9453

The following fitting appointment, the mother did not come and I was able to take these views. The original white satin belt was removed and replaced with an aqua satin ribbon. There will be no bustle and the bride is thrilled to have her simple yet elegant gown.

P1200692-2P1200693-2

Meanwhile, the veggie garden is putting on a good show with the first crop of strawberries and more delphiniums in various shades of purple and lilac along with more plate-sized pink poppies among the orange ones. P1200717P1200708

Wishing all my readers a relaxing Memorial Day weekend!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Mom with a Camera

  1. ceci says:

    This is really a lovely dress, it looks to be size and age appropriate, the aqua sash is refreshingly different. The photog/mom sounds infuriating…..IMAGINE coming into someone’s works space and moving their equipment around without permission…..maybe you need a Tazer to guard your iron?

    ceci

    • mrsmole says:

      Ha ha…or maybe a big sign on my mirror that says, “Don’t touch MY stuff!” The bride was a dream to work with and it would be very nice to get more of those this year!

  2. Sharon says:

    As always the gardening skills and hard work of Mr. & Mrs. Mole prove to be remarkable. Nice to see a simple dress accentuate the beauty of the bride, not overwhelm her. It’s okay to put your foot down and forbid a MOB to keep her mitts off your equipment. I once had a young man (customer) plop himself down in front of my new Bernina and started fiddling with the machine. I promptly told him he was welcome to play with it if he could afford to replace it. His jaw dropped when I showed him the receipt. He quickly backed off and apologized !

    • mrsmole says:

      Great advice, Sharon…I think next time I see someone heading for my stuff, I’m just getting up off the floor from pinning and nip that in the bud. It is the same with cell phone calls…the more the bride gets while she is on the platform and being pinned, the more I just stop everything. To me, you are either getting instructions from the seamstress and fully in the moment, or you are on the phone with friends…you can’t be aware of both.

  3. Janee says:

    Holey moley – you surely used the right word, chutzpah! I think I would have been just as floored and unable to respond firmly when the photomom pulled this stunt. Just wow. I have had more brides come with a friend or mom and take photos during the fitting with their phones lately, usually it’s not a problem. What has happened though, and I wrote about it on my blog, is that the following day the bride calls or sends an email about something she sees in the photos but didn’t notice in person at the fitting. We really are becoming a society that looks at EVERYTHING thru the lens of our phone camera – or barely glances up at the world between tweets or facebook posts!

    • mrsmole says:

      So true, Janey! Sometimes I wish I had never sent them my photos as they do send them to everyone they know and then someone says, “what about this or that” and then it becomes a huge wart that has to be removed. One issue is bustles…if there is one little bit that is not perfectly level, they go nuts. If yoiu keep adding points we can get it perfect but more points=more money.

  4. Tia Dia says:

    Some people just don’t get it, do they? It seems to me that the number of rude entitled people increase exponentially on a daily basis. Whatever happened to solid good manners?!?!?! SHEESH. What a beautiful dress, and it fits her so nicely. Love the splash of colour provided by the ribbon.

  5. jay says:

    Lovely dress, shame about mum’s manners.

  6. The bride made it bearable at least. She does look lovely. Could have been worse. The mom could have returned for the second fitting…yeesh!

  7. Val says:

    Well, as one of my old bosses (a lawyer) used to say: my client, my enemy.

  8. Shams says:

    That is a simple and elegant dress. I love the aqua sash with it. I’m a photo happy mom but I can’t ever imagine trying to orchestrate a professional like that. She sounds like a mom-zilla.

  9. dr P says:

    Maybe you need to get one of those “all breakages must be paid for” sign. Or a custom one telling them to keep their grubby mitts off your fancy stuff. Cheeky cow!

  10. I have had similar situations, and dealt with it in the same way as Sharon. It is the height of bad manners to behave as that mother did. Thank goodness the bride was so sweet – and the dress is lovely.

  11. Valerie says:

    I was just thinking you need a laminated Don’t touch my Iron sign, on the other hand mama was just trying to get the perfect shot. Nevertheless she should have asked before touching your stuff. Great anecdote. p.s I wonder if her mom will be taking photos at the wedding hehe

  12. Connie says:

    Valerie, if mom is taking pictures at the wedding, we’re all lucky not to be invited, aren’t we?

  13. Bunny says:

    I love Sharon’s response as well. Perhaps a page printed off from the web with a price on it if you can’t find the receipt. Keep it hand for just these moments! The gown is truly lovely on a lovely bride. That sash sparkles!

    • mrsmole says:

      I love the sash as well and another bride saw this color of sash and wants one for her dress as she has the aqua shoes to match. Could it be we are veering away from bling belts…fingers crossed!

  14. fabrickated says:

    The “Professional” pictures are somewhat disappointing and mainly seem to focus on you “dressing” the daughter in her dress and shoes…. And I agree with you that the dress is simple and beautiful and looks nice with a little colour added in the sash. Super work in the studio with all its valuable equipment, and in the garden too. And another fascinating post. Thank you.

  15. mrsmole says:

    Thank you for noticing that fact, Kate! Yes, the photos were mainly of me attending to her daughter as a lady-in-waiting, not as a professional seamstress. As our weather warms up to 100F later this week I am afraid the weeds may take over the work we have done to get the plants started. I have to make a choice between weeding and weddings….

  16. maryfunt says:

    What bad behavior from the MOB! She sounds like a piece of work. Lucky you that she didn’t attend the next fitting. The dress looks lovely.

  17. mrsmole says:

    Yes, I dodged that bullet! LOL Don’t we just love simple and refined? If only more could go down that route!!!!

  18. I suspect you will NEVER run out of stories Mrs.Mole! Human beings can be *puzzling*
    🙂
    The bride looks so pretty in her elegant gown.

  19. That is a beautiful dress too, like in your last post. I’m happy these ladies have the good taste to choose such beautiful gowns. Sometimes what you show on your blog is too frightening to be true! Love your sunshine!

  20. Tee says:

    Wow, the audacity of some folks. You are a saint…her mom WOULD NOT have moved anything that I did not want moved. I just had a lovely bride, her mother came to every fitting and took pictures in a very quite and gracious way. Love, love, love your posts!!!!!

  21. poppykettle says:

    It’s lovely to finally see a dress that actually looks gorgeous and elegant on a bride to be! I’m loving the shot from your garden too – the poppy’s are lovely and I’ve not heard of delphiniums before but I’m adding them to my shopping list next time I visit the nursery 🙂

Leave a Reply

