True Blue

Are you as tired of wedding dresses as I am by the middle of summer?

Do you remember the blue Ponte knit dress I made for my daughter on this post?

Well, what do you do with 3/4 yard of leftover fabric? How about make a skirt from that same Butterick 6332 pattern?

The skirt calls for 1 3/8 yards of fabric but for a skirt 20 inches long, it seems a bit of overkill. Now, mind you, the whole hem edge is faced with a shaped curved piece of fabric which I will eliminate and just cut a lining. Let’s start with the invisible zipper and interfaced edges:

With the lining attached and 3/8 inch seam, it can be flipped and pressed and understitched to keep the rounded edges smooth. I decided to make the hem edge a feature so stitched one inch from the edge:

The top edge was supposed to be a high-rise waist but I just evened it out like a regular waistband and then stitched the facing one inch away like the hem.

The same day I bought the ponte knit from The Smuggler’s Daughter, I also bought 2 yards of a woven polyester with horizontal stripes and gaps to make a shirt for myself. After discovering that the fabric was very thin and almost sheer, I thought I could cut the body of the jacket double thick and still have just enough for sleeves and a front facing for my daughter.

While the pattern calls for a lining, I just wanted to line the sleeves as with the front facing, it was already 3 layers thick and the fabric is slippery anyway. Here is the inside with seams and facing pressed to the back and sleeve hand basted into place.

Skipping the lining in the back and using French seams, I bound the neck with a bias strip:

The front facing was interfaced with tricot knit and then all the edges were stitched using my “G” foot.

The cool thing about this foot is that you can position the needle from far right to far left for all sorts of applications, while the black metal piece stays right along the edge.

 

On the outside you can see all the topstitching, I even did the shoulders as there were 3 layers of fabric there to hold down.

I was going to skip the pockets but my daughter said she could use one for her cell phone so I used the metal form to make the edges crisp for a 5.5 by 4 inch pocket and lined it.

 

She asked for silver buttons so I went through my stash to find these sort of silver ones. They were sewn to the right side of the jacket and then larger snaps were sewn behind them:

With the skirt (hem not pressed) so you can see the snaps:

 

 

 

I hope all your summer sewing is going well. In the next 3 Saturdays, I have 6 brides getting married so lots to finish up…where’s my steamer? Steamer…it is 99 degrees today outside and will certainly feel like that inside as well!

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to True Blue

  1. Absolutely love what you did with this fabric! Your daughter is lucky to have you sew for her.

  2. mhdwileski says:

    What machine do you have that uses the “G” foot ?

  3. I will never be sick of wedding dresses, as long as they are commented on by Mrs Mole 🙂

  4. erniek3 says:

    That is a very sharp ensemble. I only get sick of the dresses I am working on….;0

  5. Sandi Benfield says:

    Great looking outfit Mrs. mole….your daughter will be thrilled!

  6. Linda Craig says:

    Very pretty Mrs Mole, beautiful color too.

    Where do you purchase the knit tricot?

  7. Tina says:

    Your talent always amazes me !

  8. mrsmole says:

    Thanks, Tina…I just work on what shows up…thankfully I can send the broken zippers in sleeping bags and leather jackets to someone else!!!!

  9. Very nice! Thanks for showing the details of the lined skirt. I make very few lined garments and it’s nice to brush up on the procedures.

    • mrsmole says:

      Thanks, Linda, I seem to have good luck with linings on custom garments. This skirt was a little tricky with the curved hem but I hung it upside down to get the wrinkles out and pinned it flat before topstitching…some days things work out.

  10. sewruth says:

    Impeccable construction, as usual, even though it’s not bridal.
    Thanks for all the tips included in this post, beautiful colour. and always nice to see 3/4yd can be put to very good use.

  11. Susan Hart says:

    Have you tried steaming the gowns outside? I’ve gotten my hubby to clothespin a huge sheet up onto our gutter off our deck and I just hang the gowns on the gutter (with a sheet draped card table underneath for trains) & steam away in really hot weather!
    The sheet protects the gowns from hitting our patio door if there’s a slight breeze or from just the outside of the door.
    That way I don’t feel like I’m taking a sauna doing it indoors.

  12. mrsmole says:

    Good idea Susan but inside it is 75 degrees and outside it is 97 to start with. Even at 10 pm it is still over 80 outside so for now I am better inside with the A/C running. We live in such a dry area that I run a humidifier in most of our rooms just so we don’t get static shocks and stuffed up noses and dried out eyeballs. Since we have so many bird feeders, those little critters seem to think that every horizontal surface is reserved for sitting and pooping. Hummingbirds poop in flight so walls and windows are fair game…I’m afraid a wedding gown would be a huge target! Ha ha

  13. Kim says:

    And I thought it was going to be for you 😉. Looks great anyway.

Leave a Reply

