$20 Bridesmaid

Sorry, earlier today, a reader has pointed out that the top half of this post was already posted…so I have deleted it and still keep the dress below:

 

This bargain is this Aidan dress:

The skirt is like a woven metallic brocade and the lining is knit…of course…but why?

It needed to be hemmed but the skirt hung a bit weird on one side under the waistband so that was fixed as well. The pockets, yes pockets, had to be sewn shut as well to be a sleeker look. So glad I did not have to sew through all those teeny tiny sequins!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The final result is here: 

And what is the best part???

Here is the original price…I think this lady found herself a bargain! In the future she can shorten the dress and toss on a jacket and it can be worn almost anywhere!

After Sara posted her recipe for squash soup in the last post, I decided to try it out. Here is a small diced squash and onion and garlic and red pepper flakes and cumin all simmering in chicken broth to soften:  and here is what I will add later:   Next step is to add a can of chopped tomatoes to the rich base and maybe some leftover cooked chicken:

Everything tastes better with a little shredded cheese!

Happy Halloween sewing everyone!

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to $20 Bridesmaid

  1. Siobhan S says:

    That Aidan dress is gorgeous! And it’s nice to have a formal dress you can wear again rather than one that sits around in your wardrobe. I’m curious about the ubiquitousness of knit lining in formal dresses. Do you have any idea why so many manufacturers use it?

  2. mrsmole says:

    The popularity of knit linings in woven dresses confuses me but as someone mentioned in the past…they could be cutting one size of lining and as they stretch, the same lining unit is being sewn into more than one size of dress…who knows. Less fitting? Cheaper fabric? Faster insertion? Maybe someone has a better answer?

  3. Reality Biscuit says:

    Mrs Mole, half this post was posted on Oct 2nd https://fitforaqueen.wordpress.com/2017/10/02/lace-topper-and-a-rush-dress/

    This gives me the sads because I am always looking forward to see what you have been sewing!

  4. Lesley says:

    Mrs Mole, the soup looks heartwarming with all those fabulous ingredients. Our thoughts are with you and your family at this difficult time x

  5. mrsmole says:

    Thank you, Lesley, I thought I was dealing with all of this well enough but only half my brain has been engaged with sewing and the blog. The soup and your thoughts are comforting.

  6. Fabrickated says:

    Poor you. You have so much on your plate even through your soup looks yummy! Although not so tragic I also have too much on at the moment and it is easy to slip up. Thank god for the understanding and support of the sewing community.

    And I like the dress too. It’s nice for a wedding as it is a bit different and rather elegant. Thanks for the write up. Sending love.

    • mrsmole says:

      Thank you, Kate. You can never been fully prepared for the dynamics of family when a crisis comes. Trying to juggle and maintain some order and reason with 94 yr. old toddlers is horrible. Sewing can be a respite!

  7. Miss Celie says:

    That dress is so lovely. It’s kind of got a late 60s vibe to it.

  8. Cheryl Designs says:

    I am so sorry you are dealing with the failing health of family members 😦 Anticipated or not, it’s always difficult 😦 THANK YOU so much for the link to Mike Rowe. I LOVE him 🙂 This story was GREAT 🙂 I have been telling customers for MONTHS that ALFRED ANGELO was in financial trouble 😦 I advised GET YOUR LAYAWAY ITEMS-NOW. OR, if you are purchasing, TAKE WITH YOU-NOW. I have been around the bridal business for 30 plus years. I KNOW they will close their doors due to BANKRUPTCY at a MOMENT’S NOTICE 😦 Heck-at NO NOTICE 😦 HEARTLESS human beings that will leave BRIDES standing in the parking lot with a WEDDING DATE and NO PRE-PAID GOWN or BRIDESMAID GOWNS 😦 NO tuxedos or flowergirls, no ‘mother’ gowns, etc 😦 NO alterations STARTED or COMPLETED 😦 Denise has a special spot in life 🙂 GOOD FOR HER 🙂

  9. mrsmole says:

    I had heard about her when it happened but I was so happy to see her rewarded!!!!!! Taking upon herself to finish 80 gowns is devotion and service beyond belief. I’m sure you had a real gut feeling on this one Cheryl…30 years working with brides is quite an achievement! If not cause for sainthood, my dear!

    • Cheryl Designs says:

      It hasn’t been 30 continuous years 🙂 I had 2, then jewelry retail. Got back into bridal work for 7. I was a homemaker for 12 years with a bit of bridal work and other sewing. I have been fulltime again since January 2006 🙂 I do various alterations but bridal and formalwear is my favorite 🙂 You know it’s the moneymaker 🙂 I love my brides, really 🙂 I couldn’t afford to alter all of those gowns for no charge 😦 A bridal shop in Columbus Ohio did the same thing a few years ago. Filed bankruptcy with ZERO warning and CLOSED the doors 😦 Poor brides went to pick-up their gowns and they couldn’t get them 😦

  10. Hi! Nice work! Thanks for posting about your seamstressing adventures! I always learn from your posts and they make me smile.

Leave a Reply

