Return of the Satin

First of all, I want to thank everyone who left comforting comments last week about my dad. With little time allowed for grieving, the business side of my life continues. I did leave a comment last time about the twill tape tightening technique for those who asked. Sorry, I did not get better photos of that on this dress.

After weeks of lace and tulle, it is a pleasure to work with real luxurious thick satin fabric. This dress gives off that old Hollywood vibe.

Tara Keely 2152

The first fitting reveals that the top edge of the bodice flares away from the body. That will be corrected with the twill tape to tighten and reduce each side by 1 inch.

The hem needs to be shortened in the front and most of the way back to the train.

With the front and sides pinned up you can see she even has pockets.

We get lucky and can get all the train up off the ground with one point for the bustle. Don’t you just love the way a one point French satin bustle make a lovely waterfall effect even with wrinkles fresh out of the garment bag?

With the top edge tightened, the bride and her mother are very pleased and when we add the jeweled belt, it comes alive. Also, with the proper tight underwear, the skirt hangs flatter and the front and side hem needs to be re-pinned up higher.

Getting closer to the date, the bride brings in her veil totally edged in jewels and pearls and sparkles. I get to steam this puppy…it is 12 feet long.

Poor Mr. Mole always asks, “What is the purpose of such a veil anyway?”

 

 

 

I don’t really know the answer except in olden days I guess it was supposed to hide the bride’s face.

 

 

 

 

 

These days it is all about the photos and the grand effect walking up the aisle as you can see in the last photo. It makes a regal statement, no?

This week as temps struggle to reach the 50’s, a local squirrel has been doing his best to stock up before the first snow. After eating one of the last of the tomatoes lingering on the plant, he poses before hitting the sunflower seed bird feeder.

And the neighborhood birds have been packing on the weight as well…maybe they know something about this coming winter?

This week my friend, Nancy, is visiting and going to be trying on the latest sample muslin of Vogue 1561. That should be fun for both of us! Hope you all have a great week!

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Return of the Satin

  1. Lovely work- and a dress that actually fits the bride for once! I recently made that V1561- if you need an FBA, I’ll be intrigued to see how you do it [I didn’t even try!]

  2. mrsmole says:

    I rarely try on muslin samples before Nancy, but this time I did and wow, that flat front is nasty and tight with no shaping. Did you do all the channel stitching/quilting too? Did your fronts overlap at all? Did you keep all that fullness in the lower half? It reminds me of the outfits Lucy Arnez wore in the 50’s when she was pregnant on TV.
    https://www.google.com/search?q=i+love+lucy+maternity+clothes&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjnq-CVmLfXAhUTySYKHfQhC6EQsAQIRQ&biw=1920&bih=1043

  3. The purpose of the veil is to create drama in the wedding photos. The best weather for outdoor shots is a little bit of wind, not so much that it messes with the dress but enough to pick up a veil as the photographer’s assistant throws it and runs out of the shot. Click. Hello Mr Mole!

  4. Suzanne says:

    I think she looks really great. I love that dress choice. The satin is lovely.

  5. upsew says:

    That satin looks gorgeous – love the weight and hang, must make a difference from fiddly lace…. hope you show photos of that vogue too… I really like it when I get a chance to sew with friends (which is rare) – enjoy!

  6. erniek3 says:

    Ah, the dress and the bride go together! After all the lace, and now this satin, the veil seems really superfluous. (I am clearly not a white wedding dress and veil gal). The new set of Rhodes patterns have those drippy drop overlaps, and now I will never never look at that jacket again without Lucy’s puptents in my mind. A gift that keeps on giving!

  7. susanrr says:

    I’v just bought V-1651 and planning on making a muslin. Also taking out just a little bit of the fullness. Can’t wait to see your result.

  8. Cheryl Designs says:

    Love the one point bustle πŸ™‚ BEAUTIFUL πŸ™‚ The local David’s Bridal would have turned that into 6 or more points-SOMEHOW 😦 That seems to be their MONEYMAKER these days..MULTIPLE bustle points 😦 THANK YOU for the twill tape/front bust tightening info πŸ™‚ I do the SAME thing with rubberized elastic I buy from WAWAK πŸ™‚ 3/8″ wide. A 12 yard roll is app. $20 and WORTH EVERY PENNY πŸ™‚ The rubberized back lets it stick to the skin a bit if needed πŸ™‚ I stretch and stitch and it works BEAUTIFULLY πŸ™‚ HAPPY THANKSGIVING to the MOLE FAMILY πŸ™‚

  9. mrsmole says:

    Thanks, Cheryl for that elastic trick. Have to add that to my next order from Wawak! I do hear stories about alteration estimates from other places and it can be shocking! Happy Turkey Day to you too!!!!

Leave a Reply

