New Start

Last week I flew down to Southern Calif to leave ashes in the cemetery where my father has been resting for 7 years. Little did I know as I walked through the gates that an overwhelming feeling would come over me and as I looked toward his grave I half thought that I would see him relaxing in his red recliner chair welcoming me.

My tears flowed and I was shaking inside just remembering him that way. The fact that I was bringing my 98 yr. old mother’s ashes to be deposited nearby was secondary.

Mr. Mole and I have been to many graveyards looking up dead relatives in London and Wales and Northern Spain but I never have had that direct emotional connection before. Maybe it was our Basque blood connection or the deep love I shared with him for his kindness and generosity towards other folks.

As I was leaving, I heard him say, “Thanks for dropping by, kid.”

We took a little side trip to the ocean on an overcast day to breathe in some salt air. Maybe some of you might recognize this place? 

or how about this?

Now that we are back home, the backyard is ready for planting and some plants from last year have survived the winter and plowed ahead with growth.

The strawberry raised bed is going great with blossoms:

Baby blueberry plants planted last Fall:

New young plants waiting for warmer weather:

And finally the white cover was removed from the Swiss chard from last year to reveal very tall stalks even after some being harvested.

The first harvest in a basket and after being trimmed and washed and ready to be cooked:

Nancy was back in town and brought me more great fabric and patterns after she picked up her two jackets that I have featured in the past blogs.

The first is an Italian rayon jacquard with jungle animals on it that will be made into a simple loose fitting jacket:

https://www.josephinesdrygoods.com/shop/Italian-Fabrics/p/Wildlife-Collage–Italian-Viscose-Jacquard-x72497301.htm

And the second is what Nancy called her nightmare dream fabric, another rayon that will be made into View D the white upper right hand cocoon image.

So Spring planting and Spring sewing are on the agenda along with my one year anniversary visit to the knee surgeon and scheduling some cataract surgery as well to keep this old body ticking along.

Wishing you all a healthy season of sewing and growing!

This entry was posted in non-challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Start

  1. Dara Harper says:

    It is SO Wonderful to have Beautiful Memories of our Loved ones! They never leave us! Thanks for sharing this. Have a Wonderful day!

  2. Dara Harper says:

    Also I’m looking forward to seeing pictures of your goodies from the garden and your Beautiful sewing projects.

    • mrsmole says:

      Thank you, Dara, it’s always a joy to work with Nancy on her projects! Once our rain stops and the ground warms up, all the beds will have baby plants in them.

  3. erniek3 says:

    Oh thank you for sharing. I expect to hear my pop’s voice when I walk into my workshop, which is full of his old tools. I loved my mom, but I am my father’s daughter, and proud of it.

    • mrsmole says:

      We carry on all the special qualities that we admired in one parent or the other. So glad I got the patience and kindness and precision that I have needed my whole life for sewing for clients. When you hold the old tools, talk to your dad and tell him what you are working on and he will be watching over you.

Leave a comment