Trimming Embroidered Tulle

This figure flattering dress didn’t need much altering except hemming and shortening the straps and adding a bustle.

Enchanting by Mon Cheri dress

When a bride sends me a pre-appointment photo like this, I just wonder what else is lurking to be altered.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am always amused that a bridal salon makes the brides stand on a tiny little foot stool. In all the excitement, she could fall off!

 

 

Even with the front view, the stool offers no clue as to what the hem needs. The bride buys it thinking that just as the salesperson says, “The seamstress can fix that”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Straps are pinned to remove at least 2 inches each side.

A one-point bustle will work here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Side view shows a nice flat bustle. But wait…what is that hanging below it?

Of course, the lining will have to be hemmed but what about the lining train?

Not my most favorite alterations…cutting off all of the train satin and lining layer.

The front hemming to be done.

Red thread marking the finished lace hem and the rest folded under and basted up for the second fitting.

New white hooks added to the back bodice.

The right side view:

The new hem basted up:

How to tackle the new hem edge…let’s try this. First run a straight machine stitch along the fold.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then run a tiny narrow zigzag over that straight stitching:

Compared to the original factory hem finish:

Once the excess lace is trimmed away using duck-billed scissors it will look nice.

Continue trimming and press:

Some of you know that I also offer a final service. I use the firm in New York called Wedding Gown Preservation. They have been preserving gowns for over 100 years and stand by their methods with a 100 year guarantee and so far I have never had them call me to say that they could not get out any dirt/leaves/twigs etc. from a gown or veil.

This veil was heavily embossed with silk flowers and pearls and was about 12 feet long.

After the ceremony near a river, the photographer suggested that the couple wander into the stream for more photos. Guess what happened to all those flowers???

As the bride emerged from the water, like Aphrodite, her veil managed to scoop up all the mud and pine needles. Beford I packed it into the box to send off, I thought to take a photo just in case.

The latest finished puzzle…it was one of the better ones with lots of different colors and stripes.

What has Mr. Mole been up to?

His indoor winter garden is producing lettuce and Tiny Tim tomato flowers:

Now that we have had our fill of leftover turkey and turkey soup, I wish you much success with your Christmas sewing projects! Thanks for dropping by!

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Trimming Embroidered Tulle

  1. ParisGrrl says:

    Can we get a slow clap for a bride who actually purchased her correct size?

  2. Colleen says:

    I love the idea of the straight stitch and then zigzag over to create a rolled edge appearance in a difficult area to roll! I need to experiment with that with some difficult fabrics. You are the “Queen” of alterations! Thank you!

    • mrsmole says:

      I did it as I didn’t think my serger would like to tackle that edge and what would happen if it just got chewed up? Hoping that there is always a plan B when working on someone else’s clothes! Thank you, Colleen.

  3. Nancy Figur says:

    I love that hem treatment. One of my daughters dress was a Jenny Packham that was beaded English net that was a slip on dress with what I thought would have been no option for alterations. I bet you could have done it. Fortunately it was made to her measurements and fit like a glove. She only had to decide on flats or heels ahead of time and since it was in Bermuda where she lives she went with sandals. It was totally sheer and was worn over a silk slip. And she did get it cleaned at that same place because Mark Ingram where she got the dress said to only use them. I often wondered what people would do with a dress like that if it really needed to be fixed. That was before I saw all your tricks of the trade.

    • mrsmole says:

      It’s funny, Nancy, when a bride brings in something totally new to me to alter. Do I confess that I have never seen such an animal or just tell her everything will be OK? Usually I tell her that we can try different trchniques until she is happy…I did luck out on this one.

      • Cheryl Designs says:

        That hem was a GREAT idea 🙂 Looks wonderful 🙂 I tell my customers I am an expert, I can ALWAYS figure out a solution 🙂 They trust me to do that 🙂 Takes a while to figure out a solution sometimes 🙂 When I have a gown like that I under bustle the lining and satin layers. I just use two lengths of ribbon to tie together.Over bustle with one point. Do you order from WAWAK in NY? They FINALLY got the large number 3 white hooks again 🙂 They are more of a candlelight/off white color 🙂 I use them a lot for bustling, especially tulle 🙂 That’s where I purchase my lace covered buttons for bustles 🙂 GREAT SERVICE 🙂

  4. Donna says:

    One of the prettiest wedding gowns I’ve seen. You always work your magic.

    • mrsmole says:

      Thanks, Donna, the weight of the embroidery made it cling to her and drape well, so well, in fact that the hem kept “growing” the longer it hung in my sewing room!

  5. ceci says:

    Honestly, I find that wading into the river/ocean/whatever stuff so vulgar and pretentious, like the emperors of Ancient Rome. Hopefully this trend will end at some point. End of rant.

    Lovely lace; I thought I wasn’t going to like the back but of course after your magic it looks great.

    ceci

  6. mrsmole says:

    I am constantly reminded of the Candaian couple who planned on a dip in a river the day of the wedding. The groom was positioned on one side if the river taking the video and the bride was on the opposite bank wading into the water. Her gown was soaked and so heavy it dragged her into the water and away from the bank and down the river. He caught the whole tragedy on video and her body was recovered days later. Running waters or beaches are not a bride’s friend!!! If the bride survives her drenching and brings her dress to me to be preserved…imagine the amount of sand in all those layers of tulle and netting!!! It’s bad enough when they pull the dress out of the garment bag and my floor is covered with dead leaves and twigs from forest/parkland photo shoots!

    • LinB says:

      My sister-in-law chose to be married in August, in Houston, Texas. Thankfully, the wedding itself was inside an air-conditioned church. But she had her “environmental” bridal gown photos shot outside in a garden setting, the day before the big event.

      Her veil was so full of mosquitoes by the end of the photo shoot that it was dark grey. Her mother had to make an emergency run to a dry-cleaners to have the veil vacuumed and cleaned.

      It’s always something, isn’t it?

      • mrsmole says:

        Yes, the veils really take a beating! I had one gal run through bushes in the park and it looked like a camo veil with so many dead leaves and twigs and bugs…but the gown preservation folks got it clean!

  7. Suzanne Resetarits says:

    I love your alteration pics and explanations. It always inspires me. My business has been hit pretty hard by covid. I have one wedding for 2021….that’s all….its been hard financially. Well have a Merry Christmas!!

    • Cheryl Designs says:

      Hi Suzanne-Mine too 😦 I had 32 brides but proms and all other dances were cancelled 😦 About 10 weddings were postponed to 2021. I live in Ohio. I am a legal business (provable income with taxes) so I received unemployment for the lost $8,000 + income. I have 2 brides for 2021 🙂 Alas, I think proms aren’t going to happen in 2021 either 😦 Stay strong, hopeful and healthy 🙂

    • mrsmole says:

      Sorry to hear this, Suzanne. Two of my brides paid for their gowns to be altered and then cancelled the wedding this year as so many of their elderly relatives could not/would not fly for the event. Once we have a vaccine, things may loosen up a bit back to normal except the same folks who refuse to wear masks or social distance are the same one who will refuse the vaccine. As we read in the news, whole states have a blowout of new cases and surprise surprise they are the same sates that will not put restrictions on the general public nor ask them to wear masks.

  8. mrsmole says:

    Instead of my usual 80-100 brides a year, this year I have done just over 20. For 3 months I had no brides at all but this month I have had 6. I think they have all been waiting for restrictions to be lifted to have more than 30 people at the wedding but our cases and death numbers are rising every day. These brave late brides have decided to just have the wedding anyway with fewer people wearing masks. Our schools have been closed since March and not reopened yet so no proms or homecoming events. Normally I get to alter lots of charity ball gowns in Dec but all have been cancelled or held online (charity auctions). We all just have to hang in there.

  9. Rebecca Hoffeditz says:

    Loved Mr. Moles lettuce garden, I live in Indiana and miss fresh vegetables in the late fall and winter. Liked his puzzle too. Learning a lot from your alteration blog. Merry Christmas. Becky

    • mrsmole says:

      If you can buy some grow lights and put them on a bookshelf…you can grow lettuce and tomatoes and I am sure some herbs as well. Hope your Christmas is worry-free!

  10. Jill McDaniel says:

    Hi Mrs. Mole. I enjoy reading your blog. 🙂

    Will you please post a link to the Wedding Gown Preservation company in New York? I searched online, but I’m not sure that I found the correct business. My daughter got married last year, and I would like to have her gown cleaned and preserved.

    Thank you,
    Jill

  11. Pingback: Goodbye 2020 and Ivory | fit for a queen

Leave a comment