Heavy Dress, No Support

Another backless dress showed up Wtoo Oona/Ursa:

 

First try-on revealed gaping under the arms, too long in length, 3 point bustle and too much room in the bust area with too high bust pads. New bust pads were attached and lowered.

A quick pinning up on the outside to imagine the over bustle shows me that regular buttons and loops will not hold all the weight of the train.

The top back closure does not lie flat and has only two hook and eyes. I will add a third one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Under her arm, I fold over the lace motif to tighten it up and give more support. Then the sides will be basted with red thread. Nothing will be trimmed away and left in place in case the next bride needs it.

Right side bodice.

Left side bodice under the arm:

Front hem pinned up on the outside:

Hem pinned on the inside…can you tell that the whole original hem is 3 inch wide horsehair braid? The lining is also attached to the braid as a sandwich. To remove all this and re-hem the entire dress would cost a lot so the bride says she will be fine with just folding it under and stitching by hand. That way, the next future bride can drop the hem if she is taller. With the HH briad being flat, in the back where the train curves and the HH doesn’t, I have to make tiny tucks which won’t show on the right side.

Right side bodice basted:

Left side bodice basted:

Inside of the hem basted:

New push up bust cups attached:

Adding extra hook and eye for strength:

As with another recent gown that had a very heavy train, I suggested that this should be made into a French under bustle using 3 thick crocheted loops and grosgrain ribbons. Here it is just safety pinned up. Bustling under can make some lovely folds and always hangs flatter than an over bustle. You have to ask your bride if she is going to be dancing or sitting as it can determine what style you make.

The side view…I know it sticks out but at least it would not fall during the dancing. This fabric is so thick it has been like working with cardboard even though it is lovely and reminds me of Imperial Russian court gowns.

Can you see the drag line/ridge between the bust points? How did that get there? Well, if you attach bust pads that are too big, that happens. We dropped the pads down a size and the ridge disappeared. Also, even with the first alteration of folding over lace motifs, this dress has more issues of wrinkles from the underarm to the waist…why? When a bride is shorter waisted than the dress, this happens. Excess fabric wants to released and drop but cannot in this case because the waist and hips are too tight.

On other dresses, this could be fixed by shortening the straps but the bust curve is already too high by design. I pinned out two horizontal darts in the lace to make it all lie flat. Once they are stitched flat, no one will know that they are there.

Then I added 4 new boning strips inside for more support as this dress with all its weight had no boning at all…imagine!!! Sorry no photos of the boning.

The basted hem looks good.

The bride still did not feel secure so I pinned on some beaded belt straps to anchor the top to the skirt. The top closure hook and eyes will be overlapped to make that flat as well. I wish brides would realize as they are looking for backless dresses, they will have no support back there. Also, there could be excess skin folds and tattoos that you don’t want in the photographs. Most of her tattoos have been erased in Photoshop.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Smaller bust cups = no ridge/drag line.

After all this, many of her family decided not to travel during the pandemic and the date has been moved to next year.

Other brides this year have delayed their wedding dates and one bride confessed that she did not have the money to pay for her alterations after everything was done. I handed the finished dress over to her, unpaid, with the hope of never seeing her again when she chose the future date. It makes me wonder when a bride gets a reasonable quote from me, I take all the photos for her, do my alterations, adding lots of hand sewing and handmade corset loops etc, she expects she will get it for nothing. Sometimes it is just best to hand the dress over and call it a day…lesson learned.

I know you all will say I should get a deposit up front but I have also learned that if a bride puts down money in advance, she becomes the boss of my work and demands more and more fittings and free time and I have lost control of time and labor.

Before I go, I wanted to share a couple things…I made a mincemeat pie for my British husband.

The last puzzle has been completed…2000 pieces on a cardboard platform and a month later it is done. Did you know that you can buy used puzzles on Facebook Marketplace and Craigslist really cheap? So nice to find $25 puzzles going for $5…OK…it can get addicting!!!

Wishing you all stress free sewing as we approach Christmas! Thank you for dropping by!!!

This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Heavy Dress, No Support

  1. Karen says:

    What a beautiful dress! Love the way your inverted bustle looks, so clever!

  2. Colleen says:

    I notice you usually make reference to “the next bride to own the dress”. Do you find that many brides sell their dresses?
    I love the inverted bustle! So regal from behind.

  3. LindaC in AZ says:

    The under-bustle is very interesting. I like it. Non-payers would make me crazy. I would rip out my stitches. Unhem a hem. Ask them if they had nothing of value to trade – like their engagement ring perhaps? LOL I admire your ability to accept their lack of consideration.

    • mrsmole says:

      The bizarre thing is…I give them a written estimate beforehand and they normally tell me that the price is so reasonable…you just never know. I just know that you cannot pull that crap on anyone else in town. Imagine telling the hairdresser who has styled your bridal hairdo…”I’m not going to be able to pay you.”

      • Cheryl Designs says:

        I had a disappearing bridesmaid this year 😦 I should have listened to my inner voices 🙂 Her sister, the bride is in the military and they were able to get free gowns. Thus, she didn’t have ANY $ in the gown 😦 Her alterations were $130 and she never showed up to get the gown 😦 Lesson learned. #1-LISTEN to your little voices 🙂 #2-I am writing a contract for those RARE times I have a bad feeling. $50 -$100 non refundable deposit so I at least get SOMETHING. My customers REALLY appreciate my work, they won’t abuse a deposit 🙂
        Last year I had a pregnant bridesmaid. I added side gussets and a HUGE chiffon hem and strap work. She left her fitting with the EXACT total. Called 10 days later (alterations were finished) and said she and all of her friends had decided that was HORRIBLY expensive 😦 Bill was $150. I told her just bring $100 and we would move along. I have a SHORT list of BAD CUSTOMERS and she is on it 🙂 Her daughter might be a prom kid one day and I WILL remember she owes me $50 😉 MERRY CHRISTMAS 🙂

  4. thealicat13 says:

    Your patience, tact, and spirit of generosity toward mean-spirited customers inspire awe.

    Please have a blessed peaceful holiday.

    Alberta

  5. Laura says:

    Too bad she didn’t let you attach something from the dress to those two back straps. Oh well. You did your usual wonderful work!

  6. upsew says:

    and a very happy christmas to you too (and very sorry to hear of people not paying ….. ) Mince pie looks yum – always afraid to do my christmas baking too early as I have little willpower and I could end up baking twice! beautiful work on fitting that dress as always

    • John Yingling says:

      For more coverage and support in the back bodice, would inserting a nude colored Illusion fabric piece work? This is the technique ballroom dance costumers use to fill in those uncovered areas in nearly nude looking Latin dance dresses/costumes. Sometimes the costumes look like a patch here, a patch there, and the rest is stretch nude Illusion!

      • mrsmole says:

        Thanks, John but with this dress i would wonder how having a sheer panel in the back would work with no back zipper? I have used that technique to help support side boobs when the dress needed it. Some brides have ordered samples of the powernet fabric from Britex just to get the right nude color.

    • mrsmole says:

      Making a mincemeat pie before Christmas is the only way to keep Mr. Mole happy before all the food goodies arrive from the UK from his daughters. Once a bride gets her dress alterations for free…it is like labor pains…the feeling subsides.

  7. Ruth Parfitt says:

    mrs mole you are far too kind, but i know what you mean about the deposit [they think they own you without it anyway ,iv had more bridezillas than i can even remember now I’m retired ,enjoy your holidays [Ruth in England]

    • mrsmole says:

      Have a super holiday season, Ruth. I see more winter weather heading your way…stay inside, stay warm, stay safe! Keeping my fingers crossedt hat the vaccine makes a difference in the covid crisis!

  8. JustGail says:

    Bummer on getting stiffed. I wonder if it was a case of poor budgeting from the start, or if she lost her job and finances changed drastically due to covid… No matter, you still ended up on the short end. I’ve been sorely tempted to get a FB account only because it seems like so many are abandoning CL for buying & selling items. OTOH, I really don’t need more temptation!

    • mrsmole says:

      It is so tempting to just browse through all the stuff folks are selling!!! Thankfully, I have just bought puzzles…ha ha.The bride was a college student and her groom was changing jobs so everything was up in the air.

  9. Susan Hart says:

    Really well done, considering it obviously was ill fitting for her body type in the first place. It does look much much better.
    And I have worked with that stiffer satin also! It IS really difficult, I agree.
    I do ask for a $25.00- 50.00 deposit (depending on the estimated amount of work and timeframe), and I also have a small outline and contract for the brides/customers to sign and they get a copy. We go over it because I usually have to schedule a couple of appointments, so they usually know what is happening at every appointment. And I also have a list of alterations and the price so they know that added requests will cost them!
    I still get women who think they can “put one over on me”, ….but we try to talk and discuss why she thinks she “really” needs “whatever” @ the new cost.
    I once had to do an extra alteration on a dress that still had the first alterationists charge on it, so that taught me that people WILL pay for good work.
    Happy Holidays!
    Susan

    • mrsmole says:

      Yes, Susan, I do all those things and include all the photos for them before, during and after the alterations are done so they get full service. Everything is documented and written down and a print-out of every change and charge is given to them as well. I too have had to re-do other work done by not-so-competant local seamstresses.I find it amazing that others leave those big old plastic yellow headed pins still stuck into hems and side seams. A wise old seamstress sister of mine always says…”you don’t need a degree or license or any qualifications to work on clothes” and sometimes it shows…ha ha!

  10. shoes15 says:

    Do these brides think that dresses using yards and yards of fabric, lace, beads, trims etc just magically float on their bodies? Geez! You are a saint.

  11. mrsmole says:

    The trouble is…they don’t think…they are overwhlemed with the ohhs and ahhs from their posse’ in the bridal salon and buy the dress with the best reviews…fit doesn’t enter into their decision especially when the salesperson says that the seamstress can make it all work.

  12. Alex in California says:

    Excellent job. The French bustle looks great, I’m sure the part that sticks out will flatten when the bride sits – body heat working like an warm iron. I noticed that the bride was wearing athletic shoes for the fittings. No heel height? I have seen more and more brides going the ballet slipper route. Sometimes when someone will ask me to do an alteration, the person will say, “I’ll pay you.” As I don’t do this for a living, I usually say there will be no charge. Once money is involved the person can go from being appreciative to inconsiderate and demanding of my time/efforts with the unspoken, “Well I’m paying you.” I don’t need that. Always a pleasure to come to your blog.

    • mrsmole says:

      My brides wear all sorts of flat shoes. Yes, she will be wearing teal sparkly loafer type canvas shoes. Others wear high-top Converse shoes as in PF Flyers for us older crowd from the 50’s. I agree, once money enters into the job…you become the servant!!!

  13. John Yingling says:

    Adding a sheer back panel. Yes you would indeed need to insert a zipper. Yes more work, entailing removing the original, setting in the panel, then a inserting a nude invisible zipper. I know, a lot of work, but it’s the best way to get nearly nude coverage, extra support, and no distracting side straps. Just a thought.

  14. mrsmole says:

    Quite the engineering, John, but it would certainly fit and support better. Thank you!

    • Cheryl Designs says:

      Great idea 🙂 The only problem is my brides wouldn’t be willing to pay a couple of hundred $ just for a back alteration 😦 They would be happy with your less expensive strap idea 🙂

Leave a comment